Today's music?

Owlsey - "Owlsey" (1999 - Giant records) - again......



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Feb. 13, 2003 - 7:35 p.m.

My �15 Minutes� are up already, and I didn�t even get nominated for an Emmy�

I was on the local nightly news last night.

No, I didn�t appear in shackles, hand in front of my face, as I entered a courtroom.

No, I was at the wrong place at the wrong time yesterday.

It happened when I was shooting the photos of the snow rollers . I was standing at the fence at Codeman�s high school when the local ABC station�s news van pulled up to me. The driver got out with his video camera, and shot a few seconds of video of the same view of the ball diamond I was photographing.

He asked me why I was shooting photos of these oddities, and I told him �for all my readers�.

I don�t think he understood what I meant.

He went back to the van, and before I knew it the passenger (that I had not noticed) got out of the van and walked over to me. It was the reporter who anchors the 5 pm newscast. She asked me if I would talk to her on camera about what I though of the snow rollers.

I told her �No, thank you. My son would think I was a Dufus if I was on the news, standing on his baseball diamond�.

�Please! Please? Nobody else will talk to us about these things, and you told my cameraman that you had never seen them before in your life. All you have to do is tell the camera the same thing. Please!�

What can I say- I�m a softy for someone who says please�

The 5 pm news came on, and all they showed of me was a few seconds of me , shooting photos of the rollers.

The main news (6 pm) showed the same shot, plus my talking to the reporter.

When I originally talked to her, I said something along the lines of �Yeah, they are really something! I can�t ever remember seeing them before last night. They�re pretty amazing!�

When the footage rolled on the screen, it went something like this:

�Duuuhhhh, I�s just standing here in the cold, shootin� pictures!�

At least, that�s what I think I looked like. A total Dufus, like I feared. My coat was unzipped, and my head was full of mucus.

I should have went with my first instincts�


Lease said I didn�t seem that bad, so I guess that�s all that matters�..


This was the first time I have ever spoken on camera before, but not the first time I have been on the little screen.

Ever since I was a teenager, I have had this running joke about appearing in the background on local TV. Anytime I see someone shooting video in public, I have always tried to walk in the background behind the subject being interviewed. I have managed to get myself seen at least 5 or 6 times through the years.

The best time was when we were in the process of cleaning up the damage at the scene of a pipeline explosion. Since the road was blocked off completely about 2 miles on each side of the fire we were walking in the road, picking up pieces of debris scattered all around us. The reporter was talking to the spokesman for the pipeline company, and I sensed my opportunity. During the 2 minutes or so that they talked to him, I walked behind him something like 8 times. One time with another employee, pointing at the damage. Once, holding a push broom on my shoulder, another time holding a stop/slow paddle.

Look, I was still doing my job. The fire was out (and wasn�t our job to contain anyway), and all we were doing was clearing the roadway of the dirt and rock that the explosion had thrown on the roadway.

Yes, I am childish at times�..


Lease wanted me to pass on her fortune cookie, eh, fortune from tonight:

The more harder work you do, you will get you goals tomorrow!

Lost in translation, I guess�.


Sometimes, a photo will turn out in a humorous way, even though you didn�t plan it to turn out that way.

Case in point: I didn�t notice the background in this(horrible unfocused and poorly angled)picture until I was printing the photos last night . I told you some of the snow rollers were big, but even I didn�t know that they were too big for the Hillbilly truck to climb:


Just in case I don�t make it here tomorrow (HEAVY freezing rain is still in our local forecast):

I love you Lease, more today than yesterday! (in case you stop by today ;)

For everybody else:I hope you all have a Happy Valentine�s Day, too!

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top