Today's music?

The Churchills - " You Are Here * "



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Feb. 14, 2003 - 7:36 p.m.

Another storm misses us, but more crummy weather is on the way....Plus - V-tine's Day!

The �ice storm to end all ice storms� fizzled out today.

Last night, when I went to bed, the Weatherbug was flashing. Upon checking the warning, I read that we were about to receive �� to �� of ICE on trees and powerlines. That would mean the roads were about to get very bad, too.

Gordo woke me up at 4 am this morning. He said NDDOT wanted us to head into the storages BEFORE the freezing rain started. It was 30� at 4 am, and the rain was still about two counties away.

We quickly loaded up our trucks and went to our routes. I treated all of my intersections and bridge decks as I went out, even though the pavement was still dry.

After that, I then I sat in my truck. And waited. And waited.

By the time the rain started falling, the temperature was 32�. I never had any ice on my route. The county just to our north did have some glazing, and had a hard time keeping up with it, too.

That is the way freezing rain is: I can remember a couple of times in the past when the roads were freezing in the south part of our county, and the routes to the north were still just wet!

So, since nothing ever materialized they let us go home at 4 pm. The most recent forecast says that the rain (it�s still falling) will change over to freezing rain around 10 pm. There should be a couple of hours of freezing rain (groan!), and then it will change over to all snow.

By �all snow�, they are predicting 6� to 10� of wet snow, with 30+ mph winds!

Yeah boy! Tomorrow should be one wild ride for me��


So far this winter, every one of these �gloom and doom� forecast have turned out to be duds. Every single one of them.

But I am afraid this time they might be right. There are two things driving this rain: a deep low-pressure system in the Greta Plains, and abundant moisture from the Gulf of Mexico.

If so, I need to try to fall asleep a little earlier than normal tonight�.


Yes, I know today is Valentine�s Day. I still need to turn in early.

Because of the crummy forecast yesterday, we exchanged our main gifts last night. I was able to get Lease the necklace she originally wanted for Christmas (but we were to broke to buy at the time), and a vase with cut daisy-type mums (her favorite flower). She bought me a bunch of CD jewel cases (I needed those), some Dove� dark chocolate hearts (my favorite candy), and a large, potted miniature rose (yes, for me. She knows my hobbies, after all).

I gave her a small yellow miniature rose last week (I try to slip her a couple of small gifts before the holiday), so her buying me another yellow one is somewhat ironic.

I like to buy these hardy roses as gifts for Lease. I have planted all of her Mother�s Day and Valentine�s Day miniatures in a small area by our front walk ever since we moved into this house. In 7 years, that would be something like 10 plants.

I think 5 or 6 of them made it through the drought last summer. If any of them turn up dead this spring, these two will go into their places.

If I can keep them alive inside until then, that is�..


Wish me luck tomorrow. I might need it��.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top