Today's music?

Nothing- I still have the sound of plow-on-pavement ringing in my ears....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Feb. 16, 2003 - 8:49 p.m.

A quick 12 hour shift, with no time spent in the ditch�

Yeah, today went much better than yesterday.

The wind was still howling well into the afternoon, but had calmed down enough to allow me to apply salt with calcium chloride added to it to all of my protected areas by noon.

The rest of today was spent pushing the shoulders back. I would get the drifts pushed back as far as possible, and then would go work on turn lanes or whatever until they filled back in again.

The full night shift was called in at 7:30 pm, so there is a pretty good chance that I will be back in my truck tomorrow morning. The temperature is now at 15�, so salt won�t do anything to the remaining ice on the pavement until tomorrow (when the sun comes up).

Even if I don�t work tomorrow, I won�t mind. I picked up almost 60 hours of overtime in the past 8 days, so I am ready for a little down time�.


How can removing 4 words from a sentence totally change its meaning?

I have a very fine example here:

First , here is the photo that was on the upper half of the front page of the Mohall Times this morning:

Yes, I am so happy that they decided to put the photo of my unfortunate trip to the ditch yesterday.

That was bad enough. This assured me of a morning full of ribbing from my coworkers. I can handle that.

The unofficial motto of snowplow operators is :If you don�t get stuck occasionally, you aren�t doing your job�.

No, what pissed me off is the fact that the photographer didn�t get the information right from the Renville police officer. Yesterday, he told me that just told Carlos the photographer that I had to drive into the ditch to avoid being hit by another motorist.

That�s not quite what the paper printed:

Renville police officer Scott Gundy shields his face from wind and snow Saturday afternoon while assisting an North Dakota Department of Transportation truck on U.S. 83 south of Renville. Gundy said the truck went off the road while trying to avoid hitting a car.

There is a big difference between �trying to avoid hitting a car� and �trying to avoid being hit by another car", wouldn�t you say?

Yes, my coworkers also picked up on the difference.

In this case, the old saying about �any publicity is good publicity� is far from true..


Thanks to all who wrote g-book entries today (about my day yesterday).

I know the idiots who cause me problems when I am trying to keep the roads passable are the small minority.

I remember being told (on the day I was hired, 20+ years ago) that if the State could find a way to contract out the snow removal, they would lay us all off on the same day.

Nobody State has had any success contracting snow removal through private sources. It�s hard to get trained employees who are willing to work only a few days year, and to be available at a moments notice without making them full time employees.

We have plenty to do to keep us busy the rest of the time anyway��


So, that�s it for tonight. I need to spend some time with the woman who spent her weekend stuck in the house, and who made sure I was well fed when I went to work each morning.

If I don�t work tomorrow, I will post my �Very Special President�s Day� entry for your reading pleasure�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top