Today's music?

Familiar 48 - "Wonderful Nothing" (2002- Refuge Records)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Feb. 17, 2003 - 8:02 p.m.

Happy William Henry Harrison Day!

Yeah, I know today is actually Presidents Day. When I was a kid, we used to celebrate the birthdays of two presidents in the month of February: George Washington and Abraham Lincoln.

This apparently pissed off the fans of Millard Fillmore and Chester Alan Arthur, who felt their man had been slighted. In the tradition of making specific dates unimportant, the congress changed the two national holidays into one, all encompassing day to honor all of the presidents.

Even if they were a complete failure as a president.

What, you though all of our past presidents were great leaders?

Some weren�t even close.

I will spend this Presidents Day celebrating the term of office of �Old Tippecanoe�, William Henry Harrison.

You say you can�t remember what his accomplishments in office were?

There is a good reason for that: He spent his time in office lying in his deathbed. He only served as president for a total of 29 days.

Why such a short term? Because he was an idiot, that�s why.

Here is the official reason for his death, as written in the Internet Public Library page on this stupid man:

Deleviered the longest inaugural address on March 4. It was an extremely cold day and Harrison did not wear a hat while delivering the 105-minute speech. He contracted pneumonia and died in the White House one month later.

Yup- he died because he was ignorant to protect himself from the cold (I think I read before that it was also raining on the inauguration day, but it didn�t state that on this page), and because he liked the sound of his own voice.

You can only imagine what great things this man would have accomplished, if only he owned a stocking hat. Or moved his speech indoors�.


For those out there who think our current president is a mental midget � I think W. H. Harrison beats him by a long shot�


So, today was another bullshit state employee holiday. For that reason, they only called in a partial crew in to finish the clean up of Saturday�s snow. All they had left that was a pressing problem were a few turn lanes covered with ice, and slush in the rest area parking lots.

I didn�t mind not working, even though I lost out on some double-time pay. I've picked up almost 60 hours of O.T. in the last 9 days, so I needed a day to catch up around the house.

Lease had to work, of course. I picked her up for lunch at 12:30, and when we reached the Mexican restaurant something finally dawned on me � most everybody else had the day off. We couldn�t even get inside of the packed restaurant, so we settled on Burger King.

Yum.

Not really. That was sarcasm.

I ran several errands today. Lease�s car needed gas, so I took it after our lunch and topped its tank off. I had to run to Lowes� to pick up a new glass shade for our kitchen ceiling fan (I broke it this morning while cleaning it) and a bag of starter soil mix so I could get my seeds on their way.

I was 5 days late, but I finally got the broccoli (3 varieties), cauliflower (3), Chinese cabbage (2), standard cabbage (4), Brussels sprouts (1), leafy celery (1) and artichokes (1) in their Dixie cups and onto the heater.

I have another batch of stuff that is supposed to be started between February 15th � 22nd.

The top of my aquarium light will be overcrowded if these first seeds don�t sprout quickly�


I repainted the blades on the aforementioned ceiling fan. The fan came with white blades, but we wanted to change them to gold to match the trim work and floor registers in the room.

The only problem with gold spray paint is it has to be reapplied about once a year. It fades badly, and since this fan is in the kitchen it tends to capture any airborne particles that come from the stovetop.

The whole process only took about 30 minutes (if you don�t include the trip to buy a new glass shade).

I also hung a new mini blind in our bedroom (the old one was broken), and sorted and shredded a years worth of receipts and warranties. I had our cheep paper shredder working so hard it smelled �hot�.

I also finished all of our income tax paperwork for the year. I filed Codeman�s federal and state forms online (totally free). He will be getting most of his federal withholding back, and he broke even, state tax-wise.

I also found one site that will file your 1040 form (no matter what your income is) for free. There are tons of sites that will do this if you make under $15,000, but only one listed on the official IRS site for higher amounts.

I was close to being right on my initial computations. I ended up missing a small deduction that cut our bill by $18.

I also filed for a waver on any penalty we might receive.

Might not get it, but it can�t hurt to try, right?


Big peace rallies all weekend, eh?

I think most of these people are there only because they don�t want a war.

The others? Many of them are full of things they don�t like, and have trouble keeping track of what they are after.

Not the following guy. He sounded like a young (20?) Black man, and was at the rally in New York. I heard his answer to a reporters question (�Why are you here today?�) several times Sunday, because they repeat the news on the radio all day:

"Yeah, I'm here today to protest the slave wages of the sweatshops that Old Navy uses to make their clothes in Guatemala, to fight the cooperate powers who put a Starbucks on every corner, to stop the practice of killing small animals for their skins, to start the overthrow of the dictator who runs America, and to protest the marginalization (is that a real word?)of Black History Month in our school curriculums....Oh yeah, and to stop the war in Iraq!"...

Sounds like he has too many irons in the fire, as my Dad used to say��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top