Today's music?

Familiar 48 - "Wonderful Nothing" (2002- Refuge Records)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Feb. 20, 2003 - 8:26 p.m.

Spring fever (just a little early)...plus-musings on Mexican food....

Around 10 am this morning, somebody opened the overhead door to the first bay. It stayed that way the rest of the day, until we went home.

I am as tired of the winter weather as the next guy, but we only reached a high of 48� this afternoon. If the thermometer read 48� in October, the doors would have been closed and the furnace turned up to 75� because everyone would be complaining about being cold.

The sun was shining all day, making us all a little loopy. After fighting the snow and bad weather for the last 8 weeks or so, I think we are all ready for the start of spring.

I have always thought that days like today are the reason why so many people come down with late winter colds. Guys were walking around in just their coveralls and flannel shirts. No coats.

Good way to catch pneumonia, as my Dad always said.

Sure was nice to be outside and not freeze my ass off, though�..


I had to get my hair cut tonight, so I just threw together a quick Mexican meal.

It included:

Tacos with � hamburger and � chorizo sausage, cooked with onions and about a cup of my homemade salsa (mild).

Refried beans (from a can), thinned down with some more of my salsa and a little milk.

Shredded lettuce, tomatoes, sour cream, and Monterey Jack cheese for toppings.

Chips and salsa.

Since I had already cooked the hamburger part of the meat (leftovers from another taco dinner, saved in the freezer), all I had to cook was the chorizo. The sausage was leftover (raw and tossed into the freezer, too) for the baked chicken breast/chorizo filling I made last week.

Can�t beat tacos for those nights when there isn�t time to make a big deal out of supper�.


I don�t make refried beans from scratch because the canned product is pretty good to start with. No sense in soaking and cooking beans all day if the stuff in a can tastes as good anyway.

I did notice something odd tonight while making the beans: When you open a can of these beans and dump them into a saucepan, they look exactly like canned dog food. The content of the can always comes out in one piece. There are ribs from where the can circled the foodstuff. When you first work with it, it even has the same texture and consistency as Alpo, too.

Tastes pretty good, for looking like dog food�.


San-d (the junior tech) showed me an unintentionally funny, but actually sad letter that she had found on the highway last summer. It was worthy of submission to the Foundmagazine web site.

I wish I had made a copy of it to put in here, but I didn�t. It was from a young mother, and was left for her 'sperm donor' to read. He must have read it , laughed a little, and thrown it out of the window of his car (that is what San-d figures, and I think she is right).

The letter is 2 pages long, and there isn�t a paragraph break in the entire missive. In it, the young mother (Lynn was her name, I think) mentions how much she misses her man, and her baby Shaqeshia does too. She asks for some money for food, and says she needs some more of his good love (or something like that).

When I first read it, the letter cracked me up because it was so poorly written, and the grammar would have made Nelly blush.

But ,after thinking about the contents, this note read like a one-sided conversation from a na�ve girl who doesn�t get that her �man� don�t want to accept the responsibility of his fatherhood. She mentions twice that she was cold, and that her baby missed her daddy.

All this �man� did was toss the letter out.

That�s not funny.

That�s just sad�.


We had a coworker loose his mother today. This man (�B.�) doesn�t work out of our storage anymore. He took a promotion about 5 years ago to be the �Cleanup-your-highway� coordinator, and has worked out of the field office since then.

Gordo told me the news, and said he was going to send a flower arrangement to the funeral in our storage�s name. I gave him some money, but told him there wasn�t many people working with us anymore who even know who �B.� is, let alone worked with him.

I think we came up with only 6 guys who worked with him still among us. You can�t really ask for money from guys who don�t even know the man. It�s hard enough to get them to donate for someone who works there right now.

So many new employees, so little work history with most of them. Those 6 I mentioned above are the only guys out there that have worked with me on a road crew. I have been in the toolroom for over 3 years now. All of the rest of the men have been hired since I took over that job.

Many days I feel like a stranger in my own storage���

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top