Today's music?

Zwan - "Mary Star of the Sea" - (2003 - Repriserecords) Billy Corgan from Smashing Pumpkins new band..



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Feb. 23, 2003 - 3:59 p.m.

Sunday gardening update (photos included)�

The snow missed us yesterday, so I was able to get a good night sleep.

Something I haven�t had much of for the past few weeks.

More snow is forecasted for tonight, so I might still have to work. I was hoping for a full weekend off. That hasn�t happened for about 5 weeks�..


I finally got around to pruning my fruit trees today. It�s getting kinda late for this yearly task. If I don�t get this done by mid-March, the trees might be producing sap already. This can really set a fruit tree back.

I had to do some serious cutting on my two peach trees. I didn�t take enough off of them last winter. This caused many of the main branches to put out too many shoots. There were a lot of areas where several crossed branches had rubbed against each other, causing damage to the bark. I ended up with a wheelbarrow full of cuttings, all from just 4 trees.

It always looks harsh when you do the job right. If you want to continue harvesting fruit, this has to be done each winter.

I also hacked a little off of my grape vines. I have no idea how you are to prune these plants, so I just did a cosmetic job. I also loped off any vines that had left my property and entered the neighbor�s back yard.

I don�t think they mind, but it did look a little overgrown.

Coincidentally, my bud Gary called me this morning to ask me how he should prune his grapes. I told him his best bet would be to look up how to do it on the Internet.

I guess I should have taken my own advice on this matter�..


The first pot of forced bulbs was in bloom this morning. And it wasn�t the daffodils.

It was a small pot filled with tulips. These aren�t your usual tall flowers you expect to see each spring. They were from a specialty dealer, and are one of the original varieties of tulips. The flower is much smaller (half-dollar sized), and the stalk is only about 5� tall.

I haven�t had much luck forcing the standard tulips, so this made me happy. I�ll have to find another one of these old timers again next fall�.


I also cut a few branches off of our redbud tree. These are a little tougher to force than the forsythia bush. Since the Mason jar filled with those branches has started to wilt, I figured I could give the redbuds a try.

I also brought in a few of the cuttings from my peach trees. I have never heard of forcing fruit tree cuttings, but I�m giving it a shot anyway.

If they work out, I�ll post a few shots here in the future�


The last of our new amaryllis bulbs finally decided to bloom this weekend. It was supposed to be red, but is instead what I would call orange-red. Or is it red-orange. I seem to remember that both of those combinations was included in the jumbo 64 piece Crayola� crayon box.

More orange than red, so I�m going with orange-red:

I still have a pot with 4 old bulbs in it that I potted up a couple of weeks ago.

I am not expecting much out of these. I didn�t get them into the garden until late last summer, and forgot about them in the fall. I only dug them up on the day we had our first hard frost.

I doubt any of them grow, let alone bloom.


This last photo is of our $1 palm tree.

Lease and I were shopping at Wallyworld about 5 years ago on a late spring weekday. She had a vacation day to burn, and I took it off with her.

It might have been a week after Easter, and we were checking out the plants in the garden center. One of the employees asked us what we were looking for, and we told her nothing in particular. She told us, �Then you need to buy one of my $1 palm plants! They are left over from the holidays, and the store just wants us to move them out. They were originally $12.97. Can�t beat a big plant for a buck, can ya?�

These palms were already 3� to 4� tall, so a buck was a bargain. We bought one of each type (one tall with small leaves, the other with a large base, just like a palm tree).

The one with the large base didn�t make it. I tried to baby it back to heath every summer, but it didn�t like the conditions inside of our house. Every winter, it slowly died back. Last winter, it just gave up trying. It is now part of my compost pile.

The other one?

It just keeps truckin� along. It has reached the ceiling of our bedroom, and continues producing new stalks:

If it gets much bigger, I might have to donate it to a church or some other place with a tall ceiling.

I�ll dig a side shoot off of it before I give it away. Start the whole process all over again�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top