Today's music?

American Hi-Fi - "The Art of Losing" (2003 - Island Records)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Feb. 26, 2003 - 9:14 p.m.

�Mobile Art Project��plus, a busy, stressful 24 hours (and more photos)

My step mom called our house last night at 9 pm. She was calling from the local hospital.

Oh no.

A call from the hospital like this can�t be good news.

It wasn�t.

My Dad has been complaining of stomach flu-like symptoms for the past few days. He couldn�t keep any food down yesterday, and wasn�t in any mood to talk to me when I called him from work (Lease had made a big batch of chicken and noodles, and she wanted me to take him a dinners worth).

When my step mom called, my Dad was in the emergency room. She had came home (from checking on her ailing mother), she found him sitting on the floor of the bathroom. He had just tossed his cookies, and was too week to get up. So, she drove him to the hospital.

My Dad hates doctors, and hates the hospital. So I knew he was feeling pretty bad if he went there voluntarily.

He didn�t want us to come to the emergency room. He told her to tell us that they would stabilize him, and that he would have her call us if he needed us.

I called her this morning, and found out that he was about to undergo the same scooping procedure that I did last summer. They wanted to see what was causing his stomach to back up.

Turns out, he had an ulcer (he had these before, 30 years ago). This ulcer was located in the area of his stomach where the digested food passes into the intestines. It had grown large enough to block the passageway.

The doctor used a balloon-type probe to enlarge the opening. By the time my Dad came out of anesthesia, he already felt much better. The pain had diminished greatly, and he was actually hungry for food!

Codeman and I went up to see him right after work tonight. He was back to his usual jovial self. He also said that they would release him tomorrow morning, if he kept the food down this evening.

When your father is 73 years old, any health scare can be nerve-racking. I might have slept 4 hours last night, waking up from bad dreams several times.

I�m just glad to know he will be going home tomorrow�..


I shot a few photos tonight while I waited for Codeman to show up.

The first one is of the daffodils I potted up and forced this winter. They are now in full bloom. I even thought ahead of time and put a couple of plant stakes into the pot. This holds the long stalks upright, keeping the flowers looking good for a little longer:

I have had good luck forcing daffodils for the past few years, and I think the trick is to grow small-flowered varieties. I used to try to force the big �King Alfred� types, and they didn�t bloom too often. The small ones have every time I have tried them�.


The last photos fall under this category- �I don�t think of it as a filthy truck. I rather view it as my mobile art project�:

Hope these photos didn�t slow the page down too much for you��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top