Today's music?

7th House - "412" (2000 - Atlantic Records)...more 'power pop'- one you should look for!



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Mar. 01, 2003 - 9:19 p.m.

A mixed bag today. Ups and downs. Don�t say I didn�t warn you ahead of time��

How to get in a bummed-out mood on a Saturday night:

Run into a neighbor in the local Kroger. Have them tell you the following�.

Just found out (about an hour ago) that our neighbor across the street had passed away. Lung cancer. He was only in his early 50�s.

John was a hard�working man. He didn�t have mush of an education, but he worked two jobs to provide for his family.

One son went to Marquette on a basketball scholarship. He graduated in 2000, after starting for the team for his last two seasons.

A middle son ended up in trouble. In and out of boot camps and prison. I don�t know where he is today.

Their youngest is about a year younger than Codeman. We treated him almost as a son after we moved in here 7 years ago. The boys got along fine for a while, and then had a falling-out. This ended up involving the mothers, with blows almost being thrown.

That was 4 years ago. Things settled down, and we have been on a cordial basis ever since. If they were outside, we waved or talked if there was time. Plates of cookie are exchanged at Christmas.

We didn�t know he was even ill. We found out tonight he didn�t want anyone to know how bad it was.

Friday morning, as I went out to start my Hillbilly truck, a medi-van pulled up to their house. When I went upstairs to brush my teeth, I looked outside. I watched the attendants roll him out in a wheelchair into the van. I asked Lease if she knew if he was sick, and she was as surprised as I was. I thought maybe he had suffered a stroke or something.

Every day you get up, consider it a gift. When you are young, you take things for granted. Hangovers go away. Piss someone off and they get over it pretty quickly.

When you reach the 40�s, things change. Every so often, you read the obituaries and see someone you went to school with has passed. People who once were your teachers or bosses at work pass away. One had cancer. Another had heart disease.

Don�t take one day for granted. I find myself looking at life this way more and more ever day. My Dad�s health scare this week brought this home to me again this week.

Life is short.

Hug the people you love, every chance you get. Tell them what they mean to you.

Don�t pass up a chance to do something good for someone you care about.

And don�t take life for granted.

Nobody is promised tomorrow�


O.k., now that I have brought you all down, I think I need some levity here.

This was in today�s edition of my �This is True� newsletter:

"Police: Body Cavity Search Reveals

Crack" -- La Crosse (Wisc.) Tribune headline

Proofreaders. Apply for a job at the La Cross tribune Monday morning. It looks like they might be in need of one�.


I have picked up a bunch of good new music recently. Since nobody noticed that I dropped my weekly Saturday feature �Albums I love�, I figure I would just wait until I had several new cds that interest me before I wrote about music again.

Today�s the day.

American Hi-Fi - �The Art of Loosing� (2003) The latest album form this band is more great hard-pop music. For people who enjoy the Foo Fighters and remember Cheap trick, this album brings it home for you. Great melodies, an occasional screaming vocal riff, and fast guitars- this album is 37+ minutes of fun.

Johnny Cash - �American IV: The Man Comes Around (2002). Don�t laugh. The Man in Black is dear to my heart. I remember watching his summer replacement television series back when I was about 7, and playing air-guitar along with him. He has never fit in country music�s �clique�. He has always been a rebel, and age hasn�t softened him any. This album finds him again recording songs that interest him, no matter where they come from (his version of �Hurt�, the Nine Inch Nails song, almost brings tears to my eyes, and his version of Depeche Mode�s �Personal Jesus� has to be heard to be believed). Spare in instrumentation, with much of the music only consisting of Cash�s voice and guitar, and a spare piano or bass tossed in. To see him still musically vital at his age (74, I think), despite him appearing frail in person, and being nearly blind is heartwarming.

7th House � �412� (2000) Another one of those great power-pop albums that gets lost in the shuffle. Maybe they should have skipped the whole �number� routine. Everybody was going that direction back in the late 90�s (Blink 182, 714, Sum 41, Powerman 5000). I picked this one up in a eBay onecentcd auctions for next to nothing. If you find a copy of this album in a bargain bin, pick it up. You won�t be disappointed�


What a fucked-up, depressing entry tonight!

Sorry.

Hey, my Dad is home, and called me after the Illini slipped past Michigan today. He was in a great mood. I should be, too, but I�m not. John�s passing has me in a bad funk. I should be lifting a 40 ounce in his memory�

Tomorrow is another day. I promise to try to post a more pleasant entry then.

I�ll leave you with the last photo from my �mobile art project�. Since we had rain, followed by large, wet snowflakes I think the canvas my photos were taken of is no longer salt-encrusted.

Not clean, mind you- just not as salty as before.

I played around with my Photoelf photo editing program tonight, and came up with this super-saturated view of my rusted back bumper:

I loaded up the rest of my shots from recent days onto my Photogra web album, and saw that I had posted 78 shots there in the month of February!

I don�t know if that is because the weather sucks so bad that I took extra photos to kill the time, or if I have just had more time to play with my camera recently.

Either way, I�m glad I don�t shoot film anymore. The cost of the film and development would be setting me back too much��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top