Today's music?

Tony Remy - "Boof!" (1994- GRP records) instrumental Funk-Jazz bass player



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003 - 7:10 p.m.

Garden prep is in full swing�

One quick thing first: Yesterday, when I wrote about the death of our neighbor? I said he was only in his early 50�s. I was wrong.

He was only 43.

That�s just a little more than a year older then me.

I know that every time I stopped and talked to him, he seemed to have a lit cigarette in his hands. I have no idea how many he smoked per day, but even if it was 2-3 packs 43 is young for lung cancer.

It�s too young to die, any way you look at it�..


I had enough motivation to accomplish several garden-related tasks today. After running a couple of errands this morning (pick up a forgotten prescription, drop a little food off at my Dad and step-moms� house), I did a few things in the yard that I should have done long ago.

I removed the dead morning glory vines off of the fence I trellis them on every year. I pulled the dead Angel Trumpet plants from the ground, scattering as many seeds as possible to reseed the area. I also took a couple of the spike-covered pods inside (maybe I can get them to germinate inside?). I cleaned out the gross birdbath , and put fresh water into it. And I finished cleaning up the Tony and Sprout droppings. Codeman had started this job, but gave up on the areas frozen to the ground.

Once inside, I potted (actually, Dixie-cuped-up) my third batch of seeds. This week, it was eggplants (5 varieties, 3 of them long thin Oriental types), herbs (three basils, two parsleys, summer savory, and cilantro), and one container each of Gypsy peppers, Santa Lucia cherry tomatoes, and Siberia tomatoes.

The last three are for putting out in the wall-o-waters next month. This gives me about a 4-week jump on the warm-weather crops. Last year I had a few ripe cherry tomatoes by late June. That is about 3 weeks early for around here, and we even had a cold spring to slow everything down.

The other plant-related task today was taking my seedling plants from their Dixie cups and depositing them into the little plastic six-pack containers. This is a slow process, because I don�t want to damage the root system of the young plants any more than necessary.

I ended up with a full flat (72 cells) of cauliflowers, broccolis, and cabbages. Another three 6-packs were filled with Brussels sprouts.

I only use about half of these plants myself. The other half get handed out to my gardening friends and family.

I also have 8 containers filled with grass-like onion seedlings, and another 5 or so Dixie cups with assorted sprouts growing in them.

I understand why they call a greenhouse a nursery. You have to keep a close eye on these plants, watering them just right every day, if you want to raise healthy plants. I forgot to water the cups on the side porch yesterday, and several of them were severly wilted this morning. I think they will bounce back fine, but they looked pretty sad when I found them.

Up next? Some flowers that need an early start (rudbeckias, echinaceas, and native prairie sunflowers, to name three). The following week I will start my slow-growing hot peppers, the next week the sweet peppers. Tomatoes come next, and then melons and annual flower seeds finish up this process.

It would be easier to just by plants at the garden center, but I wouldn�t get as many plants for my money. I also grow many varieties that the centers just don�t handle. If I want oddball hot peppers from Asia or heirloom varieties of tomatoes, I have to do this every spring.

I don�t mind it at all, once the first harvest comes to the dinner table�


Goodbye, whoever you were.

I had two people drop me from their favorite�s list this weekend. One more dropped me earlier in the week. Three drops in a week is a lot, don�t you think?

Must be something I wrote?

I should clean my fav�s list up a little, too. I have 4 people listed who are past the magic �more than three months� criteria that Andrew uses to tell you �it�s been a long time sinc ethis person wrote anything here�.

I could go back to my list and try to figure out who dumped me, but I won�t. The people whose thoughts and opinions I care about are still there. If one of you drops me, I would be a little disappointed.

Like I said before, this isn�t junior high school here at D-land. Well, maybe it is, if you are 12 years old.

If my writing doesn�t put me in the �popular� crowd, so what?

I�m not writing this for �them� anyway�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top