Today's music?

Tony Remy - "Boof!" (1994- GRP records) instrumental Funk-Jazz bass player



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003 - 2:45 p.m.

Get your freakin� expensive car out of the way!�.

Been catching up on all of my favorite diaries this afternoon.

Why am I able to do this, you might ask?

Because another snowstorm is headed our way. Since I am on nights, the State sent me home. If they didn�t, I could conceivably work 20 out of 24 hours (this has happened in the past. Yes, it sucks).

This is not a good idea, if your job involves driving a large vehicle with an extra slab of steel protruding from the front end.

Trust me- you won�t come out on the better end of any collision involving my truck and your SUV�

Anyway�since I am not a great napper, I have spent the last hour or so catching up on my diary reading. Between the numerous snowstorms and my father�s illness, I haven�t been able to keep up with all of my fav�s.

Seems like many of you have been sick. February is just a great time for spreading disease, isn�t it? Just about the time when the weather (theoretically) will be turning better, you get the worst cold you have all winter. I have somehow avoided this so far (that ought to jinx me now, shouldn�t it?), but there is still a chance this might happen.

I�m glad you can�t catch colds through diary reading. If that were possible, we would all be fighting the same cold���..


I watched a commercial this morning that really pissed me off.

If most of you saw the same commercial, you might think it was creative. Not many of you would see what brought on my ire.

That is why I am writing about it here. Tell me, after I finish, if you think the creator of this ad is an idiot (like I do):

The spot is for Jaguar, the British automobile manufacturer. I think the model in the spot is their new X-series all-wheel drive sedan.

The spot starts with the typical �beautiful, rich, young white man and woman�, tooling down a snow-covered road. The camera scans the road ahead of them, showing the deep snow in their path. Another angle shows the front and rear tires biting through the snow, with very little slipping involved. Camera angle comes back inside of the car�s interior, showing the pretty people smiling at each other, and the woman (I think) glancing back behind the car.

This is where I have a problem.

Because behind them is a tandem-axle snowplow truck, trying to clear the road of the snow. He might be all of 2 car lengths behind of the Jag, and is moving along at a pretty good clip. Behind the snowplow are another 6 cars, all trying to follow the path cleared by the plow operator.

Now, I know what the ad agency was trying to portray here to the 15 or 20 potential Jaguar(this web site doesn�t even load properly! How good a car can they make?) customers in this country: This car performs so well in the snow, it can drive where the plow hasn�t even been!

Or- Let the new X-series clear the path for you!

Bullshit!

It�s a fuckin� CAR! If this happened in �real life�, the plow operator would have to slow down, just to avoid the inevitable �jaguar is headed for the deep ditch because he lost control when he hit that 3� pile of snow covering all 4 lanes down the road� scene that they DIDN�T show in the stupid commercial!

What I see is another jag-off who has four-wheel drive, and believes he is invincible! I see these people every time I am out there, trying to clear the road.

He is also slowing down the plow truck. He should get the fuck out of the way, so the operator of the tandem can get up to the proper plowing speed, in order to clear the snow off of the road.

By driving IN FRONT of this plow, he is making the snow removal operation more dangerous, and is slowing down the hard-working government employee who is trying to make the roads safe for everyone.

Even those who DON�T own a $50,000 all-wheel drive penismobile.

Dammit!

Is spring ever gonna get here!

I have had about ENOUGH of winter this year.

This winter has been like a bad Pauly Shore movie: It seems like it has lasted forever, and it just don�t know when to quit!

It hasn�t been all that entertaining, either��


P.S.- if you are a big fan of Mr. Shore, sorry I picked on your man to convey my feelings about this crummy winter. Please feel free to tell me what I have missed about his acting and performing career.

�Son-in-law� had its moments, but aside for that?

�Jury Duty�?

�In the Army Now�?

If only I could have back the 3+ hours I spent watching that crap...

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top