Today's music?

Arcangels - "Arcangles" (1992- Geffen Records) part of Stevie Ray Vaughns band, plus Charlie Sexton = Texas blues-rock!



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Mar. 09, 2003 - 7:13 p.m.

A Sunday of great food- way too much great food!. plus, following up on last night�s entry�

Here is what I didn�t write about yesterday (my tease from yesterday�s LONG entry is in italics below)

I didn�t even tell y�all about our overdue purchase of a decent television stand for the bedroom (oak, and it kicks ass!).

Our bedroom television has resided upon one of those $30 gems made by Saunders ready-to-assemble furniture. You know what I mean? They are available at every discount store for a fraction of what �real� furniture would cost.

Like I said, it was good enough for when we bought it (back in the late 80�s), and served its purpose for all those years.

I did have a couple of problems with it, though. It was just a little too low for my tastes. I had to prop myself up more than what was comfortable just to watch this TV, unless I wanted to watch the program with the wood crossbar of our bed covering the bottom third of the screen.

Since it was made of pressboard, it had several spots where a wet glass had been left sitting on it for too long. The �wood finish� had disappeared, and a particleboard circle was now in its place.

Lease had been looking to replace this stand for about 2 years. She is good about these kinds of purchases: she will not buy something new until she finds exactly what she is looking for.

Yesterday, we left the house with all intentions of hitting Springpatch, looking for bargains. Instead, once we left Mohall she asked me if the Oak Express store in nearby Grano (just about halfway to the hometown of another D-land writer- see the next item below to understand what this ahs to do with anything) would be open on Saturday. I said it wouldn�t hurt to check, so we detoured to the village of Grano.

They were open. After walking through this converted Railroad station, Lease thought she had finally found the perfect bedroom television stand. All I needed to do was borrow the stores tape measure to double check the height. I knew our old stand was 31� high. To eliminate the �bar across the screen� problem, the new stand needed to be at least 35� high.

It measured 38� from floor to first shelve.

Bingo!

We paid for this claw-footed beauty, and then had to return home for the Hillbilly truck. No way this thing would have fit into the Grand Am.

Lease is real happy with her find. I had to shim one side of it up a little bit. This was not due to any problem with the stand (it measured up level in the hallway), but due to the floor of our 70+-year-old house being slanted a little.

I watched the morning news programs without a wooden bar blocking the view for the first time in years this morning.

I like it�.


So, what did I do with the old one?

I carried it out to the curb, slapped a piece of paper with the word �FREE!� written on it with a red felt-tipped marker, and waited to see how long it took for it to disappear.

I have to admit I was disappointed when it was still there at bedtime, a full 5 hours later.

But - It was gone when I went outside for the Sunday paper this morning.

I think some people drive into our neighborhood just to shop for new home furnishings. We don�t live in the rich area of town (by any stretch of your imagination), but we do live only blocks from the welfare areas.

I put it out there hoping somebody would get some good out of it.

I hope they do�.


Or finding out that a fellow D-land writer who lives thousands of miles away from me grew up a very short distance from Mohall (!), and the odd way he figured this fact out (!!)

I can�t say too much about this item because neither of the other D-land parties involved mentions the facts in their respective entries today.

But I can�t just leave this item hanging, either.

One party is on a business-related trip. They stop in the other writer�s town, and meet for lunch. After talking for a little while, the visitor mentions to the non-traveler that they had once met my family and me in person. The other person wanted to know how they could have met me, beings that we live so far away from them. The visitor decides to tell them how they met us. This causes the hometown person to realize that they had grown up just 20 miles away from where I now live (Mohall), in the town Greene, just about 5 miles from Grano (where we bought the furniture yesterday)!

Does any of this make any sense to you?

I received a long email from the expatriate, and we compared notes on our hometowns. If you wanna see how closely we grew up without knowing each other, click on this link. We once lived this close to each other!

Pretty cool, finding out someone who I have been reading for the past several months is a local boy, even though he now lives over a thousand miles away.

I still haven't figured out our connection to Kevin Bacon, but I'm sure it's there...

Maybe if they write about this subject, I will elaborate a little more. If not, trust me- this odd coincidence made my afternoon yesterday��.


Last item not elaborated on yesterday:

Or of the failure of my eggplant seeds to germinate

I stared a few more eggplant seeds today. I don�t know why 4 pf the 6 varieties didn�t germinate. I just dumped the rest of these seeds into larger starter pots, and am hoping for the best.

If they grow- fine.

If not? I have enough of the ones that did sprout to fill my quota anyway�


The food part of today�s entry?

Tonight�s dinner:

Broiled salmon (from last summer�s fishing trip into Lake Michigan), cooked with olive oil, garlic, and fresh-squeezed tangerine juice (thanks to Rainstripe for the inspiration)

Photo of said fishing trip (for Rainstripe):

Saut�ed (canned) artichoke hearts with butter and lime juice (surprisingly good).

Stovetop stuffing (woohoo!), with fresh oyster mushroom (from my Korean market in Collegetown) added to the mix.

Acorn squash (baked with butter, brown sugar, and nutmeg).

Homemade bread (Italian, with sesame seeds in the dough)

When you add to this heavy menu the fact that Lease made me French toast for breakfast, I REALLY need to put some extra miles on the treadmill tomorrow.

Why not tonight?

It�s Sunday.

I try my best to REST on Sunday, cooking and gardening aside�.


The photo below might look just like one I posted here two weeks ago, but it isn�t:

This is the second bloom stalk on the orange-red amaryllis that Codeman planted back in January. Usually the second stalk on one of these plants is shorter and less dramatic than the initial one.

Not in this bulbs case. The new stalk is about 8� taller than the first one, and it contains 5 separate blooms. That is really unusual!

Here is another view, showing the 4 open and one soon-to-be-opened blooms:

The last pot of forced spring bulbs is about to bloom. If they turn out, I will post a shot here in the near future�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top