Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Mar. 12, 2003 - 10:00 P.M.

Not a great day (angry parent entry ahead)�

(Since D-land was down again last night, this entry couldn't be posted. I changed the date above to reflect that fact)

Codeman got some unexpected bad news from his baseball coach today.

He won�t be a starter.

The coach has decided that he likes 3 sophomores better than Codeman, and will start them instead of my son.

So- all of his words for the last 9 months have been lies. He told Codeman that he was his starting right fielder. He told him that he had paid his dues, and that he would get his chance.

And then he chose the �future� of his team, rather than reward Codeman for all that he has done.

I know all three of the sophs. I had coached two of them on our summer league team three years ago. I have watched them develop. They are good ballplayers. Not great. Good.

The coach has done this in the past. When Codeman was a freshman, the varsity team only had two seniors. Same number of seniors for his sophomore year, too.

That means he only had 4 upperclassmen playing form him 4 seasons ago. Each class at this high school has around 400 students.

So he has run off players he didn�t think were good enough to play for him, and started younger kids for 3 (and in some of last year�s senior class cases, 4) years.

I guess that means he doesn�t think much of this year�s seniors (he is down to 5 now), nor it�s juniors (4).

I guess this is also why he has won 1 (one- singular) league championship in 24 seasons as the baseball coach?


Codeman hasn�t decided if he wants to stay on the team. This is totally ripped his confidence apart. He says he has been hitting good all pre-season (I believe him, because he has always hit the ball). He said the coach told him he has been pitching better than ever, and might need him to spot-start.

All good, right?

If he starts the three sophomores, Codeman will be stuck being the 1st base coach, the guy who gets the bats back in the dugout (the batboy, in other words), and the one who runs the electric scoreboard.

All while the kids too young to drive get to play. And show their (very) cocky asses in the dugout. And tell him how much better they are than him.

I don�t blame him one bit if he turns his gear in tomorrow. He quit his job for baseball. He gives up all of his free time for this team.

And this is what he gets for his hard work.

He isn�t fast enough? That is what the coach said. It�s baseball, folks- not the track team. Hit the ball far enough (he can, and has), and you don�t have to run at all�..

One good thing for the coach if Codeman (and another senior who is very upset by today�s events, too): he can probably bring up those freshmen he has his eyes on!

It�s just too bad he can�t dip into the middle school system, so he can have his next talent for 5 years!


No, we won�t be running the concession stand for you this season, whether or not Codeman decides to stay on the team. We have done this menial task for the past three years while several of his star player�s parents never even did it for the team once. They just show up, cheer for their son (and their son only), and then leave if their boy comes out of the game.

Working the concession is for us dummies.

Not this year.

Thanks for asking, though!


Oh yeah, one more thing:

You know that website �Am I Hot or Not?�

Where you post a photo of yourself, and let others vote on how �hot� you are?

I posted 3 photos of the snow rollers from last month at The Wunderground.

The W(eather)underground is one of the links I bookmark to keep my eye on upcoming weather. I noticed a while back that they wanted people to post their favorite weather-related photos on their server.

I decided to post three of my shots. I did this because I couldn�t find any photos there of the snow rollers. I didn�t even notice the �rate this photograph� system when I loaded them up.

A friend of mine told me to check the ratings out on my shots.

I did.

Now I know what it feels like to be rejected. I have two shots score a �5 out of 10�, and one a �7 out of 10�.

Five?

On the �Am I Hot�?� site, that is reserved for the guy with missing front teeth and a Budweiser tattoo on his forehead.

I think I will take them down. I don�t need people I don�t know ripping my photography.


I think I will just go to bed now��..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top