Today's music?

Damone - "From the Attic" (2003 - RCA Records) Cheap Trick, if they were just coming out, and had a female singer ;)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Mar. 13, 2003 - 7:54 p.m.

Ordering mower blades makes me a happy toolroom guy�..plus- Codeman has a good talk with his baseball coach.

I�ll start with Codeman, and his conversation with the varsity baseball coach.

First off- thanks to each and every one of you who took the time to post your positive thoughts in my g-book. Codeman appreciates your caring abut his plight, and so do Lease and I.

Today before practice, the coach pulled Codeman aside and had a good talk with the boy. He said he should have took the time to explain what he was doing to Codeman before he announced the starting lineup (duh?), and that the lineup he gave was only for the practice game he had scheduled for today (rained out), not for the season. He said that he knows that Codeman has worked hard, and that he respects the fact that he puts so much effort into his game. He said that even though he is slower than some players, he could do the job in the outfield.

In other words?

He said all of the right things to keep Codeman on the team. He might not think Codeman is a great ballplayer, but at least he understands how much it means to him. He didn�t promise him he would start (bullshit, in my opinion), but that he would play more than he did last year. He said he is an important member of the varsity ball team.

Good enough for Codeman, so it will have to do for me too.

I still think the coach is a poor excuse for a molder of young men. I imagine Codeman won�t get much playing time. If that works for him, I will still come and watch the team.

Maybe I will be like one of the pets� parents. Sit in my lawn chair, cheer just for Codeman, and ignore everyone else?

That just isn�t me.

Concession stand?

Won�t move it, set it up, or volunteer to work it.

Fund raising?

I think we have donated enough by now.

Codeman said the coach doesn�t want him coaching bases. That is a job for underclassmen. Fetching bats? Same thing.

Has anything changed from yesterday?

By showing the coach how much baseball means to him, Codeman might have gained some respect from the old man.

We shall see�.


I finally got approval to order blades for our Terrain King batwing mowers.

I asked for this back in September. I was told we were low on money. Wait until the next fiscal year.

Right.

That would be July 1, 2003.

I had no new blades left at the end of mowing season last fall. I wanted to order them then, before any budget crackdowns were in effect.

Beavis said wait.

The guys started preparing our tractors for inspection this week. I figured it was now or never.

I asked Beavis one more time- ask London if we can buy enough blades to get us to July1.

He said that the bigwigs in Springpatch were considering NOT MOWING UNTIL THE NEW FISCAL YEAR!

Yeah, right! Like nobody would complain if we just didn�t mow, and weeds as tall as your SUV cover the roadsides.

I knew this was bullshit (2nd use of bullshit in today�s entry!).

They will have the money to mow the right-of-way. If we don�t, people will be wrecking their cars left and right. Blocked vision causes accidents every summer, and that is with us trying our best to keep the intersection clear.

Lawsuits cost more than diesel fuel.

I told Beavis to at least write an email to Doughnut the engineer. Write the safety people in London. Do something. Anything.

Today, he gave me a copy of an email reply he received from said Mr. Doughnut:

Go ahead and buy enough blades for one complete changeover per batwing. I could spend up to $500.

I spent $433, and I bought enough blades for 2 complete changeovers!

Am I a bad boy for buying more than he told me to purchase? No, because the dollar amount is the priority, not the number of blades. I already expect the other 4 counties to be calling me soon, asking for any blades I can spare. This way, I might be able to help them out, too.

If not, this amount will take us into the next fiscal year. The guys will be happy, because now they won�t have to salvage beat up, damaged blades, just to run their mowers.

See? It really don�t take much to make me happy when I am at work�


We had those predicted thunderstorms last night. The rain gauge had over 1� of rainwater in it this morning, adding much needed moisture to our drought-stricken soil

They rolled in around 1 am, waking every member of the house. We weren�t sleeping well anyway, after yesterday�s events.

Sprout didn�t wake up. Bad storms always used to freak him out. I think he is nearly deaf now, so he slept right though all the lightning and thunder.

At least one of us got a good night sleep�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top