Today's music?

7th House - "412" (2000 - Atlantic Records)...more 'power pop'



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Mar. 14, 2003 - 5:35 p.m.

You can�t make this stuff up!

The following was sent to me in an email today at work:

We have been asked by Headquarters to discontinue public distribution of our currently available free state maps until new maps showing the corrected Governor's information can be supplied. In addition we have been asked to collect and retain the previously supplied maps to assure no further distribution to the public. I know we have previously supplied these free maps to the public through outlets such as rest areas, maintenance field facilities, the District Office and possibly some other avenues. Please review your respective areas of responsibility to assure public distribution of the previous maps is discontinued and return any such maps to the District Headquarters of Operations. Once revised maps are received we will replenish your public distribution supply.

Yes, you read that right. The new governor has ordered all free state maps that have our old governor�s name on them recalled. They will then be DISTROYED!

Is this logical? We are in a severe budget crisis here in North Dakota. I can�t even order repair parts for our tractors. We have one truck parked, waiting for the new fiscal year to have enough money to have it worked on.

The new Governor has been harping on �the failed policies of the last governor, and all the wasteful spending he left for us to correct�. He has also started a �whistleblowers protection� policy, allowing state workers to report fraud and waste of the state�s money.

If this doesn�t qualify for �wasteful spending�, then nothing does.

We have approximately 250 of the old maps in the yard. Multiply that number by all of the storages, plus the Secretary of State offices, and all the other ways these maps get distributed, and you are looking at HUNDREDS OF THOUSANDS of these �defective� maps!

In past administrations, when a new person took office stickers were handed out to cover up the old governors name.

Not good enough for this �reform� man.

�Business as usual will no longer be the way the state of North Dakota operates� he said, over and over , during the last campaign.

I guess he meant that stupid spending would increase under his rule?


I signed a contract (to have tree work done in my backyard) this afternoon.

No, the EVIL BLACK WALNUT TREE FROM HELL! is not coming down. I just can�t afford $1000+ at this time for that purpose.

I am having several large branches chopped off of it, though ($100). I am also having a large hackberry tree dropped to the ground ($185), and another large branch (off of the neighbor�s ash tree) covering my garden cut down, too ($50).

I also got a 10% discount for signing the contract tonight. I have heard nothing but good things about the tree service I am using this time around, so I didn�t get any more estimates. They are about $100 less than the estimate I had given to me by the other guys for this same work. That was over 3 years ago, too.

This also means I will open up about 4 hours more sunlight for my beds for around $300.

Not bad. Maybe I will have the money to drop the E.B.W.T.F.H. next winter. Or at least a neighbor who can split the costs with me.

That reminds me- I need to tell you what has been going on with my Drug Dealer Neighbor, don�t I?

Tomorrow, I will (time permitting;)������

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top