Today's music?

Damone - "From the Attic" (2003 - RCA Records) Cheap Trick, if they were just coming out, and had a female singer ;)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Mar. 18, 2003 - 8:17 p.m.

The problem with trying to post here everyday is�

�some days nothing interesting happens to me.

Many days, as a matter of fact. I can usually overcome that fact by whipping together something silly to fill up 2 or 3 Word� pages.

But it�s a stretch to say I wrote about anything worth your time on those days.

Today is one of those days.

Sorry about this, but�.

Here�s what I came up with:


This afternoon, while sitting around the breakroom table (and it was actually break time! The new Gov. would be proud!), I had one of those modern �inconvenience conversations� thrust upon me.

You know what I am talking about? When someone answers their cell phone, and proceeds to talk to the person on the other end LIKE THEY ARE THE ONLY TWO PEOPLE IN THE UNIVERSE?

The person who was on their cell phone in our breakroom is some college-student/engineer co-op kid who is interning with Doughnut. Since Doughnut was in the storage (using our computers, since his was down maybe?), CS/EC-OK was just killing time at one of the small tables behind the Roundtable (where the rest of us were sitting). Even though he was a good 20 feet away from us, I could hear his conversation like he was sitting in the chair right next to me. He was using his �outdoors voice�, as we used to call it when Codeman was about 5.

He was talking to a male friend (I am guessing here), and I heard him ask �friend� what he was doing tonight. After �friend� responded, he said, �Man, I plan on playing some chest tonight�.

Yeah�CHEST, not CHESS.

After a short pause, he told his friend �I am really gettin� into playing CHEST. Stephanie and I are playing CHEST a lot lately, and she is getting better at it every day!�

Somehow, I managed to avoid cracking up out loud. I nudged Eric the Shop-monkey, and wrote the words �playing CHEST?� on the bottom of my newspaper. He had heard it, and was doing all he could to not bust out laughing too.

All I could think of (and this is very sad, but) was the pilot episode of �Happy Days�. This was before the Fonz wore a leather motorcycle jacket. He pulls up to Ritchie Cunningham wearing a spiffy light blue cloth windbreaker (if memory serves me right), and Ritchie tells him about his date with some hot chick. Fonz asks him what they did, and Ritchie says, �All we did was play chess�.

Fonz says �Whoa! You played with her chest?�

Strange how you brain stores such completely trivial information in the gray matter, only to draw it up for something as silly as this�

BTW- no, I don�t think I was being rude listening to portions of this conversation.

The only way he would have been louder would be if he were talking to this person over the intercom of the Centrex telephone system at work.

I never cease to be amazed at how LOUD people talk on their cell phones, oblivious to how rude this can be. I am not a big cell phone person (as you likely know, if you have been here before), and I try to only talk on one when I can be somewhat in private. I don�t like the way I can�t hear myself in the earpiece when I am talking, too.

Yeah, I�m old. I expect to hear my own voice in the earpiece. Maybe that is why people talk SO LOUD INTO THEIR CELL PHONES?


See?

Killed almost two pages with that item.

More, you say?

O.k.


I planted a jumbo package of Detroit Dark Red beets at work today.

Should get enough juicy, baseball-sized globes from this planting to can up my yearly supply of sweet pickled beets.

Don�t say �Yuck!� until you try them.

Eating too many beets does some strange things to your bodily waste.

Makes you think you are bleeding from some scary areas you don�t want to be bleeding from.

That�s all I will say about that�.,.


I had twice the normal number of page hits and referrers yesterday (according to D-land�s counter-thingy). I have no idea why.

About 1/3rd of these were Google (or other search engine) hits.

�Anna Nichole Smith nude pictures� for a few (no, still none here)

�Natalie Maines breasts� from two different places. It was #12 on Lycos search, #46 on Google. Somebody actually went to 46 different sites for a peek at her breast (again, no pictures of that here- sorry!).

The extra attention for Ms. Maines might be due to what she said at a concert in England last weekend (something like �I am ashamed to admit I come from the same place as George Bush!�)

Freedom of speech is great, but you might not want to bite the hands of the large majority of the Country music fans ( of which, you know, I am not one). Here in Mohall they all seem to be pro-Bush.

She later retracted her statement and apologized yesterday. Click here, if you want to read what she wrote on her homepage.

Maybe hearing that Country music stations were removing the �Chicks� music from their play lists, or that one station even had someone run over their cds with a concrete roller caused her to rethink what she said?

Naw�future cd sales has nothing to do with it, does it?


One more thing- I think it�s about time that people on the Left stop calling anyone for the war a �baby murderer�, and people on the Right to stop calling anyone who is against the war a �traitor�.

Name calling is unproductive.

Enough already�


See?

Made it all the way to the end of page 4 (in Word�).

Nothing important, nor very interesting.

Sorry to take up so much of your time.

Here, click on this link to site I think you might like

If you would like to view photos of people doing strange things to statues, that is�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top