Today's music?

None at the moment.....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Mar. 20, 2003 (Composed Wednesday,Mar. 19,2003) - 6:13 a.m.

Today�s (yesterday's, actually) REAL entry , with photos of my planned �tree assaulting� tomorrow�

I though about writing an entry about the madness starting in just a few hours (talking about the NCAA basketball tourney, not the Iraq war), but decided that would be in bad taste.

Even by my low standards.

So I won�t. Nothing funny about war, anyway.

Instead, I will toss some more �daily� photos at you.

I�ll leave the humor writing to the professionals�..


When I came home from work today, I noticed that my crocuses from last weekend were done blooming. The heavy rains of the last 24 hours had beat the petals right off of the blooms, leaving torn petals scattered on the ground.

One nice thing about spring bulbs- when one flower fades, something else comes along and take its place. Today, it was the following:

This is the earliest flowering daffodil I have ever grown. It is also quite small (less than 4� tall).

Here is a close-up of one of the tiny flowers, covered with the freshly-fallen rain:


Tomorrow is tree-cutting day here at casa Roadiepig.

I am hoping for no rain in the morning. It looks promising, if you check out the forecast. It has rained here for over 24 hours, and it is supposed to end overnight. By late afternoon, it should start back up again.

That would work for the tree service. They said wet doesn�t stop them. Thunderstorms or downpours? That does stop them.

Wimps!

What�s the big deal if lightning is cracking in the trees around you?

Yeah, right�.

I might have to take off Friday to cut the wood if they don�t get it down quickly enough. I can�t work on it Saturday (wedding photography day), and I don�t want to spend Lease�s only day off working in the back all day.

If the rain holds off long enough, I will cut and move everything tomorrow. I can split the logs as time permits in the evening.

Anyway, I thought I would post you some �before� photos, showing what I am having removed.

The first shot is of the hackberry. It takes the biggest hit, being cut to the ground. It can�t be removed all the way to the ground because it is growing into our chain link fence. I will have to make a bird feeder or something out of the 4� tall stump being left behind:

This is the tree on my east side that covers my garden in shade for most of the morning hours. I figure I will pick up another 3-4 hours of nearly direct sun now, instead of full shade for that time frame. It is worth the $185 to make firewood out of this weed/tree.

The second tree is in my neighbor�s back yard. Why am I paying to make the cut diagramed below?

Because that one 30+ foot long branch hangs directly over my main garden bed. If you look closely, you can see one huge squirrel nest in the middle of the branch. From this nest, baby tree rats are raised to eat my peach crop every summer. They also drop garbage from the branch into my tomato patch. Kinda like having hillbilly relatives living in your back yard, trashing the place. This will only set me back $50, and will provide enough firewood for at least 10 decent weekend burns in our fireplace. I think the wood would cost more than $50, if purchased from a supplier.

The last shot is of the EVIL BLACK WALNUT TREE FROM HELL!. I couldn�t afford to drop this tree at this time (explained here, if you are interested), but I could have three major branches removed while they are here. These all are growing at such an angle that they both shade my beds and fruit trees (bad), and produce many nuts that seem to hit me whenever I am mowing the grass during the summer (worse). This will also make good firewood, and should help my apple and peach trees finally grow a little. They will not be missed (a bargain at $100).


On top of all the tree work, Lease has to attend the �parents meeting� at school for Codeman�s baseball team. I will be home, watching Illinois plays at 6:10 tomorrow night.

No, I am not a bad parent. I have been to 3 of these meetings in the past, and I know what will happen. He will ask for people to run the concession (I think I have made my opinion clear on that issue, haven�t I?). He will sell t-shirts (we will buy several), and he will outline how we will have to raise funds so he can buy everything he wants for the teams in the future (I told Lease to just write him a check. No more candy bars of candles- Codeman will be 18 next week, for crise sake!).

I imagine there will be many moms in attendance, but not many dads. At least, none of the 5 senior parents dads. We all talked about this Monday ( at practice), and we all agreed we wanted to watch the Illini. Our boys want to, too.

I never dump my obligations as a parent like this, but considering the aggravation this man has caused our household in the past, I don�t feel bad about it (except for having Lease go, but she said she doesn�t mind�)

So, I plan on supporting the team (and, of course, my son playing on the team). Just not so much (team-wise) tomorrow.

Keep your fingers crossed that it doesn�t rain here for me, would ya please?

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top