Today's music?

Teenage Fanclub - "4766 seconds-A short Cut to Teenage Fanclub" (2002- Sony Music) -genius, overlooked by the masses



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Mar. 26, 2003 - 7:56 p.m.

Waiting for nothing, plus plow blade delivery, and an old wedding photo�

Yesterday, we received a phone call from the headquarters in London:

The new head of the NDDOT (and I mean the �HEAD� head) was planning on meeting the management in London this afternoon. He is working his way around our state, checking out how things are (or aren�t, as the case may be) being run.

In his travels the past two weeks, he has:

(in a county up north) Noticed several NDDOT trucks parked in a rest area, pulled up to the crew, and found that 2 of the men were reading the daily paper. It wasn�t break time.

That wasn�t the worst part of the story. The other 4 employees were ASLEEP!

(Yeah, that�s just what we need � fellow employees trying their best to live the �what�s orange and sleeps six?� joke)

( in another county to the west)Again noticed several state trucks parked in the lot of a restaurant. One hour after starting time, one hour before break time.

Upon entering the greasy spoon, he confronted the men, and told them to return to their storage. He followed them to said storage, and then entered the office to inform their lead workers that they were to be written up.

One problem- the lead workers were busy playing a GAME OF POKER!

What idiots!

No, we don�t play cards here at Mohall. We also don�t start our workday sitting in a restaurant.

None the less, we were told to be on our best behavior, just in case he decided to drop by on his way to London.

I did my part. I cleaned each room, and made sure a fresh pot of coffee was brewed.

He didn�t show up.

Nobody noticed his entourage on the highways, either.

Look, we are a pretty well behaved group of state workers. About the only thing he might find he wouldn�t like would be someone taking 20 minutes for a brake, instead of 15.

All I know is I wouldn�t want to be in the shoes of any of the above mentioned fellow (former?) employees��


The yearly plow blade order came in this morning. Delivered by the generic Ontarian (Ontarioite?), who used the word �aboot� several times during our conversation.

I hate unloading plow blades. Our fork truck is actually a 1964 Ford tractor, and doesn�t have enough hydraulic power to lift more than 10 blades at a time.

I had one bundle slide off the side of the forks and hit the ground. This happened because the right brake pedal of the tractor locked up, causing the heavy load to suddenly shift to the side. Luckily for both of us, the truck driver wasn�t on that side of the truck.

I also had another stack of blades slide off before I had them where I wanted them, saucing them to fall on top of another bundle, splitting both stacks open. This caused the blades to scatter on the ground.

All this, while I was driving in 1st or 2nd gear, trying to steer very carefully.

It�s only once a year, so I can handle the laughing of my coworkers�


It�s been 48 hours since I posted a photo.

That's a long time (for me, anyway).

I thought I would leave you with one of my favorite wedding photos from my past work.

The young lady involved is my Niece. She was married in a national forest open-air chapel back in 1996 (I think), and I wasn�t the main photographer. She had commissioned a classmate at college to do the job for her.

Of course, I had to bring my gear along, too.

I scanned this one with my crappy scanner (which will be replaced when I get paid for last weekends job), so the image doesn�t show very well.

I loved the setting, the weather, and the fact it was the niece I had watched grow from a 4 year old (when I started dating her aunt Lease), to a young adult:

Too bad the couple last week couldn�t have had an outdoor wedding�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top