Today's music?

Soccer - "The Gospel Truth" (1997 - Coolidge Records) hard to describe- hard REM? Heavy roots-rock?...good, though



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Mar. 27, 2003 - 8:05 p.m.

The brush is gone, and so is most of the flesh on my forearms�..

Yeah, it finally dried up enough for me to haul away the brush from last week�s tree cutting

I didn�t want it to block the alley for any longer than necessary. Not that I think anyone would have a problem with it, but you know how people can be. Somebody would decide the stacked limbs were offensive to them, and calls would be made to neighborhood standards.

Next thing you know, I have a summons to appear in court, am slapped with a big fine, and still have to haul the brush off anyway.

Better to do it today, the first time it has been dry enough to do so. I ended up hauling 3 totally stuffed Hillbilly truck beds full to Mikey�s house. He lives just outside of the city limits, and has an area set aside for burning yard waste already.

Today, the wind was howling at up to 50 mph. We were under a �high wind advisory� all day. I used two ropes to tie the brush down to the bed of my truck, and it did the job. I didn�t see a single stick laying in the road when I retraced my path back to the house on each trip.

That doesn�t mean the wind didn�t play havoc with my Hillbilly truck�s ability to stay in my own lane. Whenever a large gust hit the wind block in my bed, my truck was violently tossed to the left or right.

Hey, the job is done. I have a (almost) twig free alley. I still have several nights worth of firewood splitting to do, but there will be no hurry on that job.

I don�t think anyone will turn me in for that, do you?


My arms look like I stuck them into a bag of rabid wild cats.

And left them in there for a little while.

Pretty bad � 42 years old, and not smart enough of to go inside to put on a long sleeve shirt to protect my arms.

It was 75� this afternoon, so I didn�t feel like sweating any more than I had to.

I always look this way whenever I pick blackberries and raspberries, so no big deal�


Gordo and I picked up the supplies for tomorrow�s �see ya later� cookout for our full-time temporary employees. I�ll tell you how the meal goes tomorrow. I have to cook enough o feed 26 people, so it might get interesting.

Why are we having the cookout, with a few days still left in March?

They are being shown the door about 16 days early this year. Budget problems, don�t you know?

After tomorrow, they are no longer considered state of North Dakota employees. Neither are the �snowbirds�. They can�t be called up for any reason- even a blizzard!

Which I hope we don�t have in the near future, btw�.

Dumb planning by the new �king�, our little governor. I don�t think they have ever handled these temporary employees this way in the past. We have had accumulating snows after April 1st before, too.

The forecast for this weekend?

Saturday: a chance of light snow. Lows around 30�, with nearly steady temperatures all day.

Saturday night: cold. Low around 20�

Not only will this mess up my early garden (killing all of the early lettuce and such), it might cause the roads to be, I don�t know, SLIPPERY?

With only the full timers to try to clean things up.

We aren�t required to be available after that date, either.

Could be a mess, I�m telling you�


I know I�m a little late, but I finally got around to getting my duck taped:

Thank you! Thank you! I�ll be here in the Velvet Room all week. Please try the veal, and tips are appreciated��..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top