Today's music?

Gladys - "A Small Season" (1999 Coolidge Records) Alt- Country band, headed by Joleen's kitty?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Apr. 02, 2003 - 8:57 p.m.

Updates! Get your updates here! (visualize a 1920�s newsboy)

Baseball Update:

Codeman�s high school team won tonight 6-3 (game called in the top of the 7th inning with our team up, bases loaded, and Codeman�s best friend on the team at the plate. He had already hit two towering home runs, so I guess �darkness� was the reason the game was called ;)

The boy actually got into the game! Shocking!

He pitch-hit for one of the tiny sophomores (who had struck out badly twice, making him 0-for-the-season).

Codeman hit one deep foul fly ball for a long strike. He worked the count to 3-2 (full count, for you non-baseball people), and took ball four for a walk.

One problem � the umpire called it strike three. Fans were all over the umpire for missing the call. The coach even told Codeman between innings to forget about it, that the pitch was so far outside he wouldn�t have wanted him to swing at it.

The plate umpire tonight was week. We have had him before, and he is one of those umps who have no constant strike zone. He calls a pitch in the dirt a strike, and then a ball down the middle of the plate a ball (sometimes to the same batter).

He also tossed Travo for arguing a pitch (ump said ball, the other 99% of the people in attendance said strike. Even the other team�s coaches were headed to the dugout).

This means Travo has to sit out Friday�s game. Unfortunately, Travo doesn�t play either of Codeman�s positions, so it will not likely cause the coach to insert him into the lineup.

Oh well- if they play Saturday, he should get into one game�.


The lovely Chelsea sat next to me during the game. We spent most of the time making jokes about unfair coaches, and one particular teacher she doesn�t like (who was sitting down the bleachers from us).

Made the long periods of time Codeman wasn�t involved in the game pass faster than normal�.


Garden update:

I went into the storage about 30 minutes early this morning.

Am I crazy?

Maybe, but�.

Bundled onion plants came in at the local garden center on Monday, and I needed to get them into the ground before they rotted. They were already a little slimy (as they are harvested in Texas who knows how many days ago � think about the last time you forgot about a bunch of green onions in your vegetable drawer, only to discover the slimy mess too late. That was the direction they were headed)

This year, the center ordered several of the varieties that I have only been able to grow from seeds in the past. I have been on them to expand their selection for several years. All they had 5 years ago were Spanish (white and yellow), Bermuda (ditto) and Vidalia plants. I had told them that the Bermuda onions weren�t even for our part of the northern hemisphere, and that Vidalias only get the size of racquetballs here (although they taste great).

This year, they also had Walla Wallas (super-sweets for the North), plus Candy (another of my favorites, good for both long day and short day areas), and Texas 1015 (I bought a bundle, although probably a waste of space), plus some generic �sweet red� type.

Since I started both the Walla Walla and Candy varieties, I should have skipped the bundled plants of these varieties. I didn�t, because they look so much better than my grass-like plants.

I still have two varieties they don�t: Sweet Sandwich (a storage type that gets sweeter the longer you hold them) and Large Yellow Globe (touted as a 12-month-of-storage bulb. We�ll see).

I got all of the bundled plants in the ground this morning. I will be able to get my �grass� plants in the ground over lunch tomorrow (I had enough time this morning to prepare the soil for them, after I planted the others. It will be interesting to see which Walla Walla and Candy onions grow the largest (theirs or mine)....

My leek starts didn�t make it this year. I don�t know what I did wrong, but they sprouted meekly, and didn�t grow much after that. Right now, the pots holding them contain brown, dead nothings.

I direct-seeded the rest of my King Richard seeds (a short to-harvest time of 78 days � they might still produce a crop), and I might have to actually buy some starts.

I hate to do this. The only way they sell leeks around here are as �herbs� (not), and you get something like 10 plants for a buck.

A pack of seeds contains 100-200 seeds. They only cost around a buck, too.

I hate wasting money gardening.

I think my seeds might be too old. Both packs were dated 2000. That�s a long time for seeds in the allium family.

Might be time to toss out the rest�.


Enough excitement for me in one day ?

You bet!

Hey, my life isn�t exciting, but it beats watching 24-hour, non-stop coverage of the war�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top