Today's music?

Damone - "From the Attic" (2003 - RCA Records) Cheap Trick, if they were just coming out, and had a female singer ;)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Apr. 04, 2003 - 9:03 p.m.

Rain fucks things up again, a visit I could have done without, and a employee I didn't know we had�

It rained like Hell this morning. Buckets full fell from the sky.

I figured that would be enough to cancel Codeman�s baseball game tonight.

I figured wrong.

When I left work tonight, the radar screen was covered with pretty colors. Reds, oranges, greens and yellows. All of it was about one hour away.

When I pulled up to the ball diamond, the game was already in the second inning. I guess they thought they could get the game in if they started early.

Only in high school baseball. Can you imagine the uproar if the football game started 30 minutes early, due to a chance of rain?

There would be a bunch of pissed off fans, that�s what.

Nobody but team members and parents care about baseball. It might as well be the debating team.

(Just with lower overall I.Q.�s.)

The rain settled back in with the game in the bottom of the 4th, tied 1-1.

Not a complete game, so it will be replayed at a latter date.


Codeman couldn�t even coach 1st base tonight.

You wanna know why, right?

Sure you do.

It wasn�t because he didn�t want to get wet.

It was because they only had 4 batting helmets. The JV coach took a couple of the varsity team�s helmets for his game. Since you can conceivably have the bases loaded and a batter at the plate, that didn�t leave a helmet for Codeman. And even though a manager can coach without protection, a player in the coaches� box has to wear one.

Maybe that is what happened to the coach- hit in the head a few times to many without a helmet on?


Lease and I went to my step-grandmother�s visitation tonight

Yeah, I know I said I wouldn�t. But I had a conversation with a former coworker about it today, and he reminded me of an important fact:

The visitation and funeral are not for the dead. They are for the living.

My Dad didn�t need to spend 1-� hours talking to her side of the family. We were there for about an hour, talking to him, and paying our respects to my step-mom and her family.

My step-brothers are getting weirder with age. One sports a mullet that would make Joe Dirt jealous. The other one is the only anorexic man I have ever met. He is about 5�8� tall, and might weigh 120 pound.

Might.

I don�t know why they ended up so fucked up. My Dad helped raise mullet head from the age of 11, and the slim one from 3. I was 17 when they became man and wife, so I wasn�t around much when they were growing up.

Step-grandma had a lot to do with the younger one. She decided she wanted to raise him when he was about 7, and totally messed his mind up. My step-mom didn�t stop the evil one from taking her son. I didn't understand it then, but now realize my step-mom was terrified by her mom. My Dad didn�t think it was his job to get between my step-mom and her mother.

Why haven�t I mentioned these two people here in my �journal� before?

Do I have to explain why?

I didn�t think so�..


Double-header tomorrow.

Good news, though- the game has been moved to Mohall. The games were supposed to be played in Douglas, but they were really slammed by the storms today. Someone said they had over 2� of rain, and were under a tornado warning early in the afternoon. Since their diamond doesn�t dry up well (I heard it described as a �mud pit�), they called and asked to come here.

Saves us a 2 hours (round trip) drive tomorrow to a town with nothing to do (but watch other kids play baseball) in it�.


I�ll leave you with a small photo:

The guys are supposed to fill out a fuel ticket every time they ad diesel fuel to a piece of equipment from our storage tanks in the lot. There are no credit card scanners or attendants to pay. All you have to do is grab one of these tickets (my design, btw- sharp, eh?) and put down the basics.

Date.

Hours (or miles, on the pickup trucks).

Gallons of diesel.

Equipment number.

Your name.

Not much to ask, right?

Every time I unload the ticket box and sort the small pieces of paper to enter into the computer system, there are at least on one or two messed up slips. Sometimes it�s because the driver wrote down the wrong vehicle number or hours. Sometimes it�s because they decide to leave several of the lines blank.

And sometimes, it�s because they just want to play with my mind.

Check out the date, the hours (69- yeah, I get it), and the truck number.

We don�t have a truck with that number. There are only 12 months in the year (the last time I looked anyway).

And, even thought we havea couple of people who have an inflated view of their self worth, I didn�t know that HE was working for us��..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top