Today's music?

Gladys - "A Small Season" (1999 Coolidge Records) Alt- Country band, headed by Joleen's kitty?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Apr. 10, 2003 - 7:53 p.m.

Garden, garden work, gardening, out back in the garden, nothing but gardening (well, a little about a boring meeting at work, but you get my drift, right?)

I guess I will get the �boring meeting� part out of the way first.

We had our yearly �refresher� course today on hazardous materials.

Talk about a snooze-fest.

We HAVE to attend one of these meetings every 12 months, or we won�t be able to stick our fingers into glowing piles of goop oozing out of the back of overturned tanker cars.

Like I plan on doing that. I usually just taste any spilled waste, in case it is actually foodstuff.

We are what is considered �first responders�. That is because we are the first fools that have the misfortune of pulling up along side a vehicular accident.

What is our job as a �first responder�?

Observe. Decide if something Hella bad has happened. Call the storage; let them know how many people are dead. And then get the fuck out of the area.

If I ever pull up on a overturned tanker, spilling fluorescent goo onto our NDDOT rote�s pavement, I plan on skipping all of the above steps to the last one.

Rule of thumb: If you put your hand at arm�s length, point your thumb at the accident, and you can see any of the area outside of your thumb, you are too damn close!

The teacher of the class this year was a new guy. In the past, we have had this seminar performed by the same person. This is for the last 15 years or so. The man who gave the class knew that most of us had been thought the class many times, so he just skimmed over the material and told us his latest dirty jokes. Not very informative, but waiting for the jokes gave us something to concentrate on.

The new instructor is a police officer for the village of Mohall. He gives these classes as a private subcontractor. It�s not that he was boring or anything. The material itself causes listeners to reach for toothpicks to keep eyes pried open.

No, he did the best he could with the subject matter. No dirty jokes, but I can live with that.

He had one verbal tic that sprung out in the first few minutes of his teaching. I wish I hadn�t noticed it, but once I did I couldn�t block it out of my mind.

He had a bad habit of finishing about every other sentence with the following: Um-ok?

Yeah, just like Mr. Mackey from the show �South Park� (thanks to San-D for the proper name of said character. She is the resident �South Park� fan. I just catch the show now and then)

Um, ok?

Um, ok?

Multiply by 100 or so times, and you now know what I heard this morning.

I�ll hear that in my sleep tonight�.


Garden (s) news!

I started the day off planting my Cole crops at work. I pulled into the yard at 7:10, and proceeded to do a little �speed-gardening�

I forgot my watch, so I bummed one off of Tommy. I know he thought I was nuts, but in tiem he will understand why I have to pay such close attention to the time.

Beavis is a little obsessed with time.

Hard to believe for a anal-retentive man, right?

He pulled one of his �I am the official time keeper for the State!� power plays tonight at quitting time. He told us that we had all left 3 minutes early yesterday. HE said it was (at the time) 3:55. Our wall clock said 3:59. He said, �Does anyone have a watch that is wrong?�

Several of us said, �Yeah, you do!�

He then walked over to the phone and dialed up �time and temp�

It said the time was 3:56.

At least he said it did.

I don�t care. I expect him to do this every year, right after winter snow season ends.

He will get over it in a few weeks�.


What did I plant, you ask?

Broccoli (3 types), broccoflower (1 variety), cauliflower (2 varieties), cabbage(3 varieties), and Brussels sprouts (2 varieties).

I also planted 6 rhubarb plants that I started form seed, and 3 artichoke plants I also started. I expect the rhubarb to take off and produce a crop next spring. I don�t expect much of anything out of the artichokes. It�s just a small waste of space every spring.

I need to move to California if I really want to grow this Mediterranean crop�..


I planted half of the plants by 7:30, and got the rest in the ground at lunchtime.

I ate a quick lunch in order to accomplish this task.

It�s only a couple of days a year, so I can deal with it�.


I planted a few more plants when I came home tonight.

For the most part, planting any of these plants at home is a waste of space.

Too little sunlight, don�t cha know.

I do it every year anyway.

I will get a few small heads of cabbage this way, and if things go well I will also get a few shoots of broccoli too.

Since I start the plants, the cost isn�t a factor�


I also distributed most of my surplus today.

I had three employees drop plants off at retired fellow employees houses. No since in me driving all over the county, is there?

I did drop plants off at one house. MOM lives nowhere near anyone that still works with us, so I ran her plants to her house. She wasn�t home, but I managed to get her on the phone this afternoon.

Like most retired people, she says she can�t find time to get anything done now that she is retired. I told her to just �mud� the plants in, and then get her beds tilled next week.

I can�t wait until I get to the point where I am retired and can�t find time to do anything�.


Long entry.

And I didn�t mention the �.well, you know what.(nobody dropped me from their �favorites� list today. I am shocked!)

Tomorrow, Lease and I are off.

She had a vacation day to burn, so I took it too.

We will drive to the city that Codeman�s baseball team plays in early in the morning, shop and such all day, and then drop by the ballpark to see if he plays or not.

The forecast is for 68� and sunny, with no wind to speak of (after a week of 20mph+ every day) .

I am sure it will be a fine day, whether he plays or not���.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top