Today's music?

Gladys - "A Small Season" (1999 Coolidge Records) Alt- Country band, headed by Joleen's kitty?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Apr. 13, 2003 - 7:46 p.m.

How much work around the house can I pack into one day? You will now find out�

We planned on sleeping in late this morning.

Really, we did.

What we didn�t plan on was some idiot roofers who decided to start nailing shingles onto the neighbor�s house across the alley.

AT 7:04 AM!

Who starts a roofing project at that hour on a Sunday morning?

As far as that goes � what respectable roofing installation man is even out of bed at 7:04 am? Aren�t they all in bed, sleeping off Saturday night?

I know- don�t assume things about people Roadiepig!

I have met a bunch of roofers though the years, and they all have two things in common: They are not the least bit afraid of heights, and they can drink draft beer like there�s no tomorrow.

Hey, most people make jokes about my fellow State workers, so I think I am entitled to make a generalization every now and then too�


Since they ruined our sleeping-in, I got up early and threw together a decent breakfast (jumbo biscuits (from the can), sausages patties, and scrambled eggs with green onions and red bell peppers), and was dressed and ready to run by 9:30.

Before I left, I started charcoal for the water smoker. We picked up a slab of ribs and a whole chicken yesterday morning, before Codeman�s baseball games (which went well, if you haven�t read about them yet ;)

I started the ribs at 10 am.

I added the chicken (cut in quarters) at 2 pm.

I added bbq spices to each cut of meat, and added extra charcoal about once an hour.

We ate supper at 5 pm. And it was very good.

We ate most of the ribs, and a little of the chicken. The rest of the chicken will be shredded and made to bbq sandwiches for a quick meal next week.


Around this long-time cooking effort, I managed to get (somewhat) caught up in my home repair /yard work/ car care.

All of this stuff just stacks up upon itself when spring rolls around. I can�t keep up with all of the yard and garden jobs if I take the time to go to all of Codeman�s games.

I think you know what is our priority at the present time.

I ran to the local Me-nards� top buy a little treated lumber (deck wood). This was for a small project to protect our air conditioners outside compressor unit.

Why would this need protection?

Because Tony Bonehead has decided it is his favorite landmark to �sign� with his urine every day.

I didn�t know how much damage he had done this way until the furnace/a.c. guys stopped by last week to check our Freon (since they changed our ac coil last fall when the replace dour furnace). He told Codeman that if we didn�t find a way to protect the unit Tony�s urine would ruin it in less than a year. He had already done some damage, causing some of the cooling fins to clog, leaking out a little Freon at the same time.

I am not a carpenter. Anyone who knows me will tell you that fact.

This didn�t stop me from doing the best I could, as sloppy as that was.

I bought 4- 8�x4�x4� posts, and 6- 8�x 6�x1� facing boards, and made a 3-sided frame that will (hopefully) keep Tony�s emissions from causing any more damage.

No, I won�t post a photo of it here. I just don�t do a good job pluming up corners and such, so it isn�t very well made.

It is sturdy, though. And if Bony wants to still hit the compressor, he will have to find a way to shoot his stream about 2 feet past the facing boards.

I would have trouble doing it myself, even with a full bladder.

I�ll let you know how it works�.


I also did the following (while Leas ewas doing her magic straitening up inside the house) :

1. Washed Lease�s car. Vacuumed the interior, Armorall-ed� the vinyl and the tires, and Windexed� the windows inside and out.

2.Did the windows and interior of the Hillbilly truck (no since in washing it, is there?)

3.Planted most of the perennial Prairie plants that I started indoors back in February (coreopsis, rudbeckia, galdaria, and some others I have now forgotten). I have enough left to plant a few around the building at work, too (not like our new Governor will appreciate the savings to the taxpayers or anything ;)

4.Cut down all of the dead canes from my rose bad. I have lost a few plants, so they will need to be replaced in the coming weeks (unless they decide to send new growth up from the soil. I am not holding my breath on that possibility)

After all that was done?

Lease and I had a great meal�.


Digital photography has totally changed how I shot photographs.

Take Codeman�s baseball games, for instance.

In the old days, I would shot something like 5 or 6 rolls of film for the entire season. In those, I hoped to have enough good shots to give every parent on the team a decent photo of their boy, playing on Codeman�s team.

Now?

I shot over 250 photos between Friday�s game in Springpatch and Saturday�s double-header here in Mohall.

I haven�t had time to even start editing the mass of this effort. I did grab a few shots out that I liked to post here, and edit a couple of photos of KB hitting his home run for his dad.

I need a day off, just to catch up a little here.

Oh yeah, that�s right- I just took a day off Friday.

O.K.- I need another day off.

I will leave you with three photos:

First, a shot of a brick fountain in Springpatch, not yet filled with water. This is also a sneaky way to get a photo of Lease into my �journal�, too�


This shot is an example of how I don�t plan enough when I put things into my garden. The pansy at the bottom of the photo was put in last fall (the new Icicle variety that can survive winter), without thinking about where I had spring bulbs planted already. It is trying to bloom, even though I didn�t give it much of a chance to start with:


I will leave you with one last shot of the boy at yesterday�s game.

I shot this as he was headed to the batter�s box in the 6th inning. I usually try my best to stick my lens into an opening in the chain link fence so that none of it shows up in the image.

And sometimes I use the fence to add to the image. I also played with my photo editing software a little bit, jacking up the saturation and sharpness to make this image look far from real:

Sorry if they slow your page loading down too much (like anyone has made it all the way down here in the first place)��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top