Today's music?

Daryl Hall and John Oates - "Soulful Sounds" (1992 - RCA music)- a sorta-greatest hits cd from their early years



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Apr. 15, 2003 - 8:30 p.m.

The other shoe hit the floor today (or am I thinking of another overused metaphor?)...plus- The Mirror Project?

First off, if you landed here because of my photos ( that I linked) at The Mirror Project, welcome!

It looks like something like 400 people have done that in the last 24 hours or so. I didn�t expect that kind of response, but I hope you enjoy the stay. I have links on the left side of this page to my photo pages, if that is what brought you here. Feel free to view them, if you like.

Anyway, thought I should say something about the Mirror Project before I started my daily exercise in improper usage of the English language��


Today Lease finally found out what she had been expecting for some time now � her office is closing down, and she won�t have a job here in Mohall on June 2 of this year.

That�s the bad news.

She still has a job, if she wants it. She just has to commute to Springpatch every day.

That�s also the bad news.

Springpatch is about 35 minutes away on a good day. Snow falling and the wind is blowing? An hour, minimum.

Any good news in this?

We are trying to locate it.

Here are the various attempts she and I have made, trying to find the rainbow behind the clouds:

1.She will keep her rate of pay, and will work weekdays only, along with the 6 or 7 employees that will also be commuting to the new office. That means she only has to drive her car over about one week per month.

2. She gets to keep all of her seniority, which means a lot over there. They have had trouble keeping good people in their customer service department in Springpatch (due to a real lowlife formerly being in charge. She is gone, and so are many of the former employees). She will still get priority on selecting vacation dates and such. And she will qualify for a full 4 weeks of vacation in just a little over a year. If she starts over somewhere else (if a job can be found here in un-employment-land), she would take a large pay cut, and probably start back at 1 or 2 weeks off per year. A big step back ,at 43 years of age.

3. She gets to actually sign off and get off of the phone at 5 pm!None of that �there are still people on hold, so you have to stay� crap. Some nights, she isn�t out of the Mohall office until 6 pm or later. She will be pulling into the driveway at 5:45 every day now, not just some of the time).

4. They are giving any employee who transfers a stipend (a decent one at that) for the first three months. I think this is there way of saying, �We will pay for your transportation costs for this amount of time. If you haven�t moved to Springpatch by then, you will have to pay your own way�. Pretty decent of them, I have to admit.

5. If, after this amount of time, she decides she just doesn�t want the commute, they will lay her off, and give her a severance package that includes all unused vacation time, plus payment for each year of service. She has already said she will tolerate this until Codeman is out of college.

I know- many of you commute this far and further every day. I feel for you. It is much nicer to only have to drive only 5 minutes to work every day (as Lease does now).

How do I feel about this whole situation?

After careful consideration, I think the whole situation sucks.

Huge. Donkey. Dicks.

I would be happy if she could find a lesser-paying job that made her happy. One that she didn�t have to work full-time at, and could look forward to getting up and going to every day.

I tell her this almost every day. We can get by on less money. Codeman is going to the local community college, not Harvard. Even when you consider he will be going to a large State school for his junior and senior years, the money isn�t that big a factor.

So this is what our life will be for at least the next 4 years unless something better co,es along for her).

Maybe we should look for a house in Drewbear�s place of birth. That would put us about halfway between both of our jobs.

It�s an idea, anyway�..


A photo from last Friday's day in Springpatch, for the folks that found this �journal� through my link at The Mirror Project (another one of my photos at this link) (see the top of this entry, if you were skimming ;):

Why is this photo here?

I don�t know.

Just because, I guess��..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top