Today's music?

Ambrosia - "Ambrosia" (1975 - Warner Brothers Records) 70's rock, similar to Toto and Yes



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Apr. 17, 2003 - 8:26 p.m.

A musical surprise, a small engine surprise, and a couple of baseball photos�..

I received a package in the mail today containing two cds I won on eBay last week.

Both were not high on my �must have� cd purchase list.

As a matter of fact, I wouldn�t have bough either cd if not for the fact I wanted another cd from the same seller much more.

I placed a rather high (for me) bid of $11.77 for the cd I really wanted (Joe Jackson�s new cd �Volume 4�). I had the high bid by a mile for 4 days. When we left for Codeman�s baseball game on Saturday, there was still 4 hours to go on the auction. My proxy bid was only up to $5:77.

Because I was winning this cd easily, and didn�t think anyone else would want to pay that much for the cd (several other copies had gone for less than $10 all week), I decided to check out the other cds that this seller had up for sale.

I put a bid of $4.99 cents on a copy of the album �Ambrosia� by the band of the same name. I won it for that price (Ambrosia was a mid to late 70�s band that played middle of the road pop-rock. Their two biggest hits were �How Much I Feel� from 1978�s �Life Beyond L.A.� and �Holding on to Yesterday� from this album. Similar musically to the bands Toto and Styx, according to the AMG)

My other bid was for a cd by the band Secret Machines titled �September 000� (won for $3.99)

Here is what the AMG had to say about this cd:

Classic and psychedelic rock get a much appreciated refreshment courtesy of the Secret Machines on this debut EP. Recorded with members of Califone at Clava Studios, September 000 is part pulsing instrumental exposition and part stadium-size rock songwriting, with an emphasis on hazy bombast that makes the Flaming Lips, the Who, and Pink Floyd obvious reference points. But the band holds their own against those monolithic influences quite well � they're familiar without being too derivative; their arrangements and lyrics, along with Brian Deck's production, breathe a great deal of life into their music. This is a great (if short) debut, even if the reprise of "Marconi's Radio" does sound an awful lot like Madness' "Our House."

I am now listening to the Ambrosia cd. I can�t figure out how I missed out on this band back in �the day� (as the kids say). They were relatively big back when I was in high school, and sounds like something I would have bought back then (prog-rock, before that became a bad thing).

Oh well � I later picked up the Joe Jackson cd from Buy.com at a special sale price ($9.99, with no shipping!), and I picked up two albums I would never had if I didn�t think I had the other auction already won.

Such is life at eBay��


I mowed my lawn for the first time tonight (after work).

I had a couple of coworkers give me a hard time today because I hadn�t done this thankless task yet this spring.

Joe D. Mechanic said his son has already mowed his yard 3 times!

I have a lousy spread of turf.

And I have a simple explanation for this:

I am a gardener. I grow fruits, vegetables, and flowers.

I can�t eat grass. I don�t get enjoyment out of fertilizing, mowing, weeding, or watering the lawn.

Hell, I can�t even smoke it, with the drug testing I am subjected to at work (yeah, I know- not that type of grass).

So I don�t do anything to the lawn more than is necessary.

I mow it begrudgingly whenever it grows tall enough o become ratty looking.

And not a day sooner.

My grass understands how I feel, and has decided to grow as slowly as possible to leave me more time to work on my true plant-related joy.

I appreciate its cooperation.

I even have several varieties of ornamental grass growing in my flowerbeds, as my way of saying �Thanks!� to the common bluegrass and rye that (barely) covers the ground wherever I haven�t converted the lawn into another raised bed.

My pathetic Toro� self-propelled mower even started on the 18th pull. I expected more trouble than that, considering it was the first time it has been started in 6 months�..


I�m out of here.

I have been sorting through the baseball photos from last weekend. Cropping to improve the view, playing with the contrast and saturation where needed to improve what I started with.

I will make a cd-rom of all of the finished photos for each player on the baseball team , once the season ends.

I don�t cost me much to do this, and it (hopefully) gives them something to remember the season by, down the road.

I thought I would put a couple of them up here for your perusal;

This is Jordan, Codeman�s best friend on the team. I have know him since he was 6 years old, when he and Codeman were on the same YMCA basketball team (I helped coach):

Even though it looks that way, the broken-out section (in the roof of the dugout) was not caused by Jordan hitting his head (he is 6�7� tall, though).

If you look very carefully, you will see Codeman�s baseball coach over Jordan�s right shoulder.

I have described him here many times, but I think this photo sums him up pretty well- he is a very small man ;)


You make the call- ball or strike?

It was a strike. That is Jordan behind the �tools of ignorance�, as a famous catcher once called the position.


Last photo:

Travo, pitching in game 1 vs. Jackonville.

Is it any wonder baseball pitchers have arm trouble?


Doubleheader tomorrow in Springpatch.

Lease will get out of work early (3:30), and we should get there by the middle of game one.

Maybe (just maybe) Codeman will get to play in game 2.

If not, we will be there for him anyway.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top