Today's music?

The White Stripes - "Elephant" (2003 - V2 records)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Apr. 18, 2003 - 10:00 p.m.

Another trip to Springpatch, same results (kinda)�plus � Please subtract $18.21 from $20.00 (it�s not THAT hard, is it?)

Yes, Lease and I drove over to Springpatch for another Friday baseball game. This time, we didn�t leave until 3:30 (when Lease was able to leave work). For that reason, we missed the end of the rain-delayed game with the Spartans from a few weeks ago.

Codeman didn�t play, so no biggie missing the last 3 innings of said game. Mac won 4-1, with a two out triple to clear the bases in the bottom of the 7th inning.

Codeman didn�t start in the second game either. I am not dwelling on this anymore. I don�t care whether he starts, pitch hits, or sits on the bench- we will be there every chance we get. It�s his last chance to play organized baseball (unless he ends up in one of those adult leagues in the future), and we want to see him play if he gets his opportunities.

Today, that was as a pinch hitter in the top of the 6th inning with Mac ahead 2-1. He came up with a runner on 1st and nobody out. Coach had him bunting on the first two pitches (two balls fouled off, both of them likely to be called balls. He tried to do his job anyway, and this time it didn�t happen)

He managed to work the count to 2-2, and then hit a slow roller to the shortstop. He tossed the ball to the second baseman a step late, but the umpire called our runner out anyway. One of those �assume� plays, on the front end of a possible double play. Codeman beat the throw to first, but his one at bat goes down as 0-1, fielder�s choice.

Boy can�t get a break this year��


Mac ended up blowing the game, too.

The Spartans scored a run in the bottom of the 6th to tie the game, and then the leadoff hitter singled to start the bottom of the seventh inning. The next batter bunted the ball sharply back to the pitcher (one of the coach�s �pets�), who turn and threw the ball about 15 feet over the second baseman�s head in to the outfield. By the time the ball was picked up by the center fielder, there were runners on second and third with nobody out.

Bad news.

They intentionally walked the next batter to load the bases (and to set up a force at the plate). It didn�t help, as the next batter lined a hit into the right field corner that ended the game 3-2. If it weren�t the last of the 7th, the hit would have brought home all 3 base runners.

I think the team�s record is now 6-7.

Gonna be hard to get those 20 wins this season, I am afraid��.


After the game, Lease and I went to the Springpatch shopping area. I dropped Lease at Gordman�s(yes, San-d ..Gordman�s ;) to shop for shirts for our family group picture 9to be taken with all of Lease�s sisters and such next weekend), and I headed over to Best Buys.

I wanted to pick up a copy of the new album by The White Stripes, and I knew it would be discounted. I also bought a disc by a band called The Raveonettes that I had read good things about. I wouldn�t have bought it, except it was priced at $4.99.

I paid more than that for a 20 ounce Diet Pepsi and a lousy cheeseburger at the ball game today.

When the young man rang my cds up, he hit the wrong button before the register could tell him how much change to return to me. This total freaked him out. I handed him a $20, and he kept looking at the cash register�s readout. It said $18.21.

He was frozen at his station, lost at what to do.

He started to get a $10 and a $5 out of his drawer, but I told him that the change should be $1.79. His response was �Yeah, right. My Bad!�

He then pulled a $1 bill out, and stopped, staring at his change drawer. He was out of quarters.

What to do?

He started counting out dimes, and then threw them back in the tray. He ripped open a new roll of George Washingtons, and then counted out 4 of them, plus 5 pennies.

I handed him back the extra quarter and dime, to which he just looked blankly back at me.

I told him �You must have had a tough day! Don�t worry, you�ll be getting off soon, right?�

His response?

�Uh�.yeah, right! Long day!�

I actually felt bad for this kid. Can you imagine how hard it must be for him to balance his drawer at the end of his shift?


Before the game today, I had an hour to kill, waiting on Lease to come home from work. I decided it was about time that I pulled the weeds growing in my vacant beds.

This will be a major job, split up over the next few days.

Why so bad, you might ask?

Because I have a bumper crop of Creeping Charlie, strangling off every other living thing it comes across.

I will take a photo of it tomorrow, to show you how bad it has become. It is actually rather pretty right now, covered with tiny pastel purple flowers.

It is one evil plant, though.

I filled two 5-gallon buckets with pulled weeds in my two (very) small beds just the other side of back yard fence, and will fill another 6-8 of this weed in the rest of the back garden. It is a member of the mint family (bad sign), and it loves partial to full shade (bad again).

I also ripped out a huge, mostly-live rose bush from this same area.

I had grown to hate this antique rose plant. It has bloomed a couple of times in the spring, but with only a smattering of small, light pink roses. The rest of the year, it was a living version of Constantine wire, causing gaping rips in the flesh of my arms (and in one case, my face) whenever I made the mistake of getting too close to it. It also provided dense shade over portions of the beds I weeded today, too.

It took two garbage cans to contain all of its twisted branches (cut into small pieces wearing heavy leather gloves), and major effort to dislodge the tangled root system of this wicked plant.

I know have a large opening in my fence, and a hole that needs a decent Floribunda rose to fill it up.

Hum� tomorrow�s game is in ExpensiveWinetown, home of our favorite garden center.

Think we can find time to stop there sometime during the day?

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top