Today's music?

The White Stripes - "Elephant" (2003 - V2 records)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Apr. 19, 2003 - 9:31 p.m.

It�s Saturday night- do you really want to read this crap?

I thought not�.

O.K., here�s the deal: I will leave you with a quick article from The Guardian, (a British newspaper), and a couple of photos from today.

Then, you can go fill your Easter baskets with chocolate bunnies and Peeps�.

I don�t want to be the reason why you are late filling the baskets�..


(Stolen from �This Is True� , April 13th edition)

The Hong Kong Tourist Board had finished all the details

on its new tourist-luring campaign and bought space in multiple foreign magazines, but the rapid spread of severe acute respiratory syndrome from mainland China into Hong Kong made attracting visitors less urgent. More than 100 people have died from SARS, a new mutant strain of pneumonia, mostly in China and Hong Kong. But it was too late to recall or change the ad, which is now coming out in magazines and promising that "Hong Kong will Take Your Breath Away."

Talk about bad timing��


O.k., here are the photos:

The first one is of the evil vine weed I wrote about here yesterday.

Creeping Charlie.

Sounds like a skid row drunk in the gutter, but it is actually my biggest weed problem here at Casa Roadiepig.

A member of the mint family, this plant will choke off anything that gets in its path. It also grows anytime the conditions suit it. That is especially true when the weather is cool (or cold), and the soil is moist.

That means it grows anytime the temperature is above freezing, all fall and winter.

By spring, I have a choking, hard to eliminate mess on my hands.

Today, I managed to clear the east side of my back garden off this pest. It took me an hour, and it filled 4 full 5-gallon buckets in the process.

Tomorrow?

If the rain holds off (it looks that way), I will try to finish the north and west sides of the garden beds.

It should only take about 3 hours of sweaty, back breaking work!

Yeah!

Here is a photo of the culprit. Yes, it looks rather attractive in full bloom.

So does a patch of dandelions. And they don�t mind taking over your property, too;

Give me about a week, and I will have it all pulled.

Give it about a month, and it will be well on its way to filling the bare areas back in�


Codeman played in both games today. That makes 3 games in a row, which is amazing.

He didn�t do much, though. He went 0-4, with a walk (and a rbi). Not much else. He did hit the ball hard each at bat, and had one trip to the plate where he fouled off 5 pitches (after the count went to 0-2) before he hit a fly ball to deep center for an out.

Mac lost the first game 8-1. Codeman went into the game in the 6th inning after the starting right fielder had dropped his third easy fly ball of the game. He also had one trip to the plate, in which he grounded out to the second baseman.

This picture sums the first game up. By the time he made it into the game, it was already a lost cause:

Oh yeah�we were the �guests��.


Even though he didn�t manage a hit today, he didn�t get cheated on his at bats:

I think this was his fly out to deep center, but I�m not sure�


One last baseball photo:

This had to hurt�

See the baseball? Look again...

The batter is Codeman�s friend Jordan. The ball is courtesy of the pitcher, and I imagine a bruise is now located on his right thigh. 2 pitches hit him today, meaning around 10 pitches have hit him so far this year (4 in the last 24 hours!)

I guess when you hit as many home runs as Jordan has, pitchers figure it�s better to plunk you than to give up another 4-bagger�.

This shot was just pure luck.

I have to guess the approximate time the ball will be crossing the plate. With the digital, that means I hit the shutter about the time the pitcher is following through in his motion to the plate. I miss many swings this way, but occasionally hit the button at just the right time�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top