Today's music?

Teenage Fanclub - "4766 seconds-A short Cut to Teenage Fanclub" (2002- Sony Music) -genius, overlooked by the masses



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Apr. 25, 2003 - 6:23 p.m.

Friday? It didn�t seem like one all day�

It rained all night. Good for the garden, bad for the storage.

With all the rain, most of the planned jobs were canceled. That meant a yard full of bored workers, trying to kill 8 hours.

We all came to the conclusion that today�s 8 hours felt more like 12.

I have days like this all the time, being stuck in the toolroom. But most of the other guys get to escape the yard, and its slow-moving clock.

Some of them ended up painting on salt spreader boxes. Other were sweeping the clod bays, cleaning areas that weren�t too dirty to start with.

I�m not there now, so I won�t bitch about it anymore�


We did receive a little over an inch of rain here at casa Roadiepig.

Much needed rain, btw.

Even with this decent soaker, we are still about 2" short of normal for the month. That means we are now in our 11th straight month at sub-normal precipitation.

I don�t think it will be a problem with our local water supply, but the soil is very dry. I ran the tiller on Wednesday night (it was so dry I could do this job, which doesn�t happen ever spring), and the dirt I turned over was dry all the way down to the depth my tines dug into the beds.

Yesterday, while I was driving home from Codeman�s �baseball game�, I saw that the sky was becoming increasingly darker as I headed south. But the time I pulled into the driveway, lightning was cracking close by.

It didn�t matter to this silly gardener. I planted the cannas bulbs I bought yesterday, along with some (tall white) sweet alyssum seeds into a large plastic pot. One of my coworkers found this 4-gallon plastic container on the road last month, and brought it in to me. He figured I could find a use for it in my garden.

He was right. I had to throw out my old fake clay pot last fall. It held 6 gallons of soil, and had survived 5 summers of overgrown roots pushing at its walls before it cracked into pieces last summer.

Frugal gardening (to me) doesn�t mean being cheap about everything. I buy hybrid seeds. I don�t mind paying a little more for good perennial plants and trees.

But this container fits right in with my overall �gardening philosophy�: make the most of what I have, grow the best garden that I can, and do it for as little money as possible ;)


Tomorrow will be a hectic day for all of us.

Codeman has a doubleheader at home. With the rain, it means he has to be at the diamond at 7 am, to help get the wet field ready.

Tomorrow night is his senior prom. I will take too many photos, natch.

Then he and the lovely Chelsea will spend the night at the big post-prom lockin.

Sunday is the day I will be shooting the family picture that will include all of Lease�s sisters, plus their offspring. Mother�s Day photo for their mom (but also for all of the others , too)

Not much time to rest this weekend, I�m afraid�.


One last thing- another Flash animation web page.

I can�t really explain this one, but it�s worth a look�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top