Today's music?

The White Stripes - "Elephant" (2003 - V2 records)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, May. 04, 2003 - 9:41 p.m.

Four photos, with explanations�

I finally finished editing all of the baseball photos.

It only took another 2+ hours tonight. That, on top of I-don�t-know-how-many-hours in the past month or so.

Now, all that is left to do is make a list of who gets a copy, and then burning the discs.

So I hope you aren�t looking for deep meaning in today�s entry.

There won�t be any.

Just a few photos, that�s about it�.


Codeman, on the mound (check out the location of the baseball):

He picked up the loss, but I am still proud of what he did yesterday.

He hadn�t thrown from the mound in over 2 years (early in his sophomore year). The coach has used him as a batting practice pitcher for the last two years, but has never thought of throwing him in a game.

Yesterday, we were playing the best team in our conference. They had won 11 of their last 12 games, 8 by the 10-run mercy rule.

Coach thought that putting a pitcher who throws the ball slower than average out there might make the game close. It would have worker, except for the defense falling apart behind the pitcher (Codeman), like it has several times this year.

Codeman got out of the first inning without giving up a hit. In the second, he got the first two batters out, and then had the next two batters reach base on errors by the middle infielders (seen that more than once this year). The next three batters hit the ball hard, and before the 3rd out was recorded, they home team had put 4 runs on the board.

They were unearned, because they should never have reached the plate. Like I said, this has happened many times this year. Our team is as likely to be beat by their mistakes in the field as by good play by the other team.

In the bottom of the third, Codeman walked the first two batters. With this, the coach decided his experiment was over. He took Codeman out, and inserted one of his usual starters. He gave up another run before retiring the side, and then gave up 3 more runs himself in the next inning.

Final score Cartoon 8, Mac 2.

Codeman�s line: 2 + innings pitch. 5 runs (1 earned) 3 hits, 2 walks, 0 strikeouts.

Oh yeah- he also made the newspaper today.

As the loosing pitcher.

I don�t care. I think he did a great job, considering�..


My big fish from yesterday:

After the games yesterday, Lease and I spent the rest of the afternoon fishing at the Big Lake. It just happens that it is located about halfway between our home and the ballpark. Good reason to put the rods and reels in the car, and spend some less-stressful time outdoors.

We didn�t get into the crappie that everyone had been telling us about (all of my bank areas are out of the water, due to the lack of rain), so we headed to the dam to fish in the rocks.

We always seem to catch plenty of bluegills above the spillway, and yesterday was no exception. The action was a little slow, though. There wasn�t much wind to stir the fish up, but we did o.k.

The big bass? He made the mistake of thinking my tinsel jig (homemade, 1/32 ounce, white with a pink head) for a small minnow. It fought for about 3 minutes, and then came into the bank . I landed it without much hassle. It was probably the heaviest Largemouth bass I have caught in my lifetime (since I don�t target them that much).

I would guess its weight at between 5 and 6 pounds. Any Largemouth caught this far north over 5 pounds is considered a lunker. I have caught a couple that topped that weight in the past, but this one felt heavy for its size (might have been a female, loaded with eggs). It measured in at 24 inches long.

I had no intention of cleaning and eating this old-timer, but we did have the camera with us.

In the car.

In the parking lot, about 300 years (and 100 feet of elevation) away.

We both climbed up the rocks, and reached the car without passing out from the climb (we hurried, because I didn�t want the fish to be out of the water for very long). Lease shot a couple of frames of the fish and myself (with my face flushed with blood, and covered with sweat), and then I hurried back down to the water. I worked a little water into its gills (by slowly pulling the fish backwards in the water), and watched as it swam away.

It appeared none the worse for wear.

It also made my day, fishing-wise�..


Lease decided to make a carrot cake for our desert today. She asked me if I would grate the carrots for her (to save her knuckles ;) .

I drug the bag of carrots out of the veggie drawer, and had a little surprise: they were covered with tiny roots!

I think we bought the bag back in March, but I�m not sure. Root crops can stay in a fridge for a long time before they go bad, and these were still fresh enough to cook.

I figured you might get a laugh out of them:

And here is a closer look:

I had my first slice of the cake, just before I sat down to type this entry.

Tasted great, in case you wondered if they were still edible�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top