Today's music?

Tony Remy - "Boof!" (1994- GRP records) instrumental Funk-Jazz bass player



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, May. 05, 2003 - 8:42 p.m.

The boring � tomato garden inventory� entry�.

I managed to get my tomato plants in the ground yesterday, even though the light rain soaked me by the time I finished.

Today, the wind blew strong and the sun shone down on the garden. Somehow, the 1.6 inches of rain we received late yesterday had soaked in totally, and the surface had dried enough for me to plant my peppers.

Tomatoes and peppers.

Sounds like a small task, doesn�t it?

Here is the breakdown of my labors�.

Tomato plants (total planting time- 2.5 hours):

Back row: Brandywine (large heirloom-8 plants)____Polish Giant (huge fruit- 2 plants)______Yellow Brandywine (2 plants)____Black Brandywine (both are experiments this summer-2 plants)____Super Beef (4 plants)____Tigerella (large multi-color fruit- 4 plants)____Super Steak (another old-timer-4 plants)

Second from the back row : Big Boy (4 plants)____Celebrity (my main crop tomato- big, heavy producer of sweet fruit-9 plants)____Cherokee Purple (large dark red fruit- 2 plants)____Big Girl (3 plants)____Better Boy (most popular hybrid in America- 4 plants)____Miracle Sweet (VERY sweet , medium sized fruit- 3 plants)____Oxheart (a crappy heirloom I keep planting for some odd reason- 2 plants)____Sanibel( free seeds from Tomato Growers Supply Company, so who knows how they will be � 4 plants)

Second Row : Sun Cherry (4 plants)____Jetsetter (Fast, large fruit � 4 plants)____Elberta Girl (Looks just like a large Elberta peach- 3 plants)____Polish Linguista (heirloom paste-4 plants)____Heintz 254 (the #1 commercially grown canning tomato- good for salsa because all fruit ready at once- 4 plants)____Juliet Grape (last year�s �grape variety disappointed, but still had seeds left- 3 plants)____Golden Girl (orange-red medium sized fruit add color and flavor to my salsa �4 plants)

I had already planted a short 1st row of tomato plants earlier in the week: Miracle Sweet (5)___Santa Lucia (the REAL grape tomato-3 plants)____Viva Paste(4 plants)____Early Girl (5 plants)___Sun Gold Cherry (2 plants)

Yeah- that�s a lot of plants (102 for those keeping score).

But I make a lot of salsa, too. Plus I give away surplus fruit to several people, and eat tons of tomatoes from early July until frost, too. I plant my tomatoes close together (in some cases, less than a square foot per plant). You get less fruit per plant this way, but much more fruit per square foot.


A great book on this subject, and where I picked up much of what I practice in the garden today is � Square Foot Gardening� by Mel Bartholomew (1981- PBS).

Not that I am trying to make money for Amazon.com, but they had the easiest link to the book. Pick yourself up a used copy at your local reseller. It�s worth the small price it will set you back�..


This photo shows how I organize the plants:

O.K., maybe it doesn�t show it very well. Too much sun and shade when I took this photo late this afternoon.

All of the white objects are cut slats from cheap-o mini-blinds. That is what I use for plant markers (I get about 500 5� labels per $3.95 bargain mini-blind).

It might look like I am a little anal with the straight rows and labels, but there is a method to my madness: I label because I want to know which plants die early (so they can be replaced with my leftovers, if they fail in the next 10 days or so), and so I can remember which plants produced the best crop.

I just gather up the used stakes in the fall, after I pull my dead plants. They end up in the trash, but serve me well over the course of the summer��


I don�t have time to list the peppers tonight (like you are just waiting to read that list).

Tomorrow, I guess.

Later, all����

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top