Today's music?

Wishbone Ash - "Four and New England Remastered" (1973 & 1976- MCA records) English hard rock, aged nicely...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, May. 08, 2003 - 7:48 p.m.

A question for y�all, a long-distance music request, and BIG CHANGES at the NDDOT

I was reading the Chicago Tribune sports section today, and a large ad for Bass Pro Shop�s Outdoor World caught my eye.

Probably due to the nice photographs of deluxe fishing tackle, but I didn�t need to mention that, did I?

This little bit of ad copy caught my attention. I know it�s probably because I have Y chromosomes, but I have no idea what the area highlighted in the following scan means:

Does �Washed for a soft hand� mean that it appeals to only those who have no calluses on their palms? If you have hard hands, should you prefer your fishing clothing be unwashed?

I just don�t get it. Who were the copywriters of this advertisement trying to sell the clothing to? I asked several of my coworkers what it meant, and not one could tell me.

I�ll leave it up to you to fill me in on �soft hand��.


Yesterday, there was a call slip in the mailbox for something that had to be signed for and picked up at the main post office.

I had no idea what the item was waiting on my John Hancock. It didn�t help that the handwriting of the letter carrier was twice as bad as mine. She (I am guessing here) even scribbled the sender�s name in such a sloppy way (and only partially above a shaded area) that I couldn�t figure out who it could be.

Codeman said it was probably his graduation gift from my sister. That made sense, because if it were something of value (and she usually splurges on gifts), it would be something that would require a signature.

I stopped by after work tonight, and claimed my package. It wasn�t Codeman�s gift.

It was a cd that I had ordered so long ago I had completely forgotten it.

Here is a (blurry) scan of the packaging:

Look in the upper left-hand corner: it reads �Minsk�

Yes, that�s right- I bought a cd on eBay from Belarus.

As in �The former Soviet Empire� Belarus.

I bid on the disc (Wishbone Ash-�Wishbone Four� and �New England� combined and remastered) without paying close enough attention to where the seller was located. I bought it at such a good price; I didn�t mind the high shipping cost ($5.50).

The man behind the counter at the post office told me that he couldn�t remember ever getting anything sent from Belarus before my cd arrived yesterday.

I hope it made his otherwise boring day�..


Finally- the news from the storage.

Big news, that is.

Both Pumpkinhead and Mikey are out as temporary lead workers.

The Marlboro Man is now the only temporary lead worker, and he has a grand total of 1 month of prior experience at the position.

Not by choice: because they are being removed from duty, pending a State Police investigation.

I can�t say any more than that here. If I do, I might get in big trouble for saying so down the road (yeah, like anyone from the NDDOT headquarters building would be reading this- but better safe than unemployed).

I will say this- if one of the individuals is found guilty of the act that has been discovered, they will be fired. Probably even end up in a courtroom, pleading for the jury�s mercy.

No, nothing was: ripped off, factually incorrect, violent, nor sexually abusive.

At least, not in this instance.

No, what one of them (or, much less likely, someone else) did was both childish and vile at the same time.

If someone is found guilty, they DESERVE to hit the bricks. Headfirst would be appropriate.

I guess you (like all of us at the Mohall depot) will have to wait and see how this pans out���

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top