Today's music?

Wishbone Ash - "Four and New England Remastered" (1973 & 1976- MCA records) English hard rock, aged nicely...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, May. 12, 2003 - 9:42 p.m.

Shampooing EVERYTHING?�plus- my Dad doesn�t like it when the strong winds blow (photos for explanation)....

Weekday #1 of our �working� vacation was spent mainly shampooing carpets. It took me about 5 hours to clean all of our carpeting, plus an ungodly amount of throw rugs.

I didn�t know we owned so many throw rugs! I spent almost as much time working on those animals as I did our carpets. Every time I thought I had them all done, Lease would show up in whatever room I was in, carrying two or three more.

I still wonder if she wasn�t offering my services to the neighbors or something.

Just kiddin�!

It always amazes me what comes up using one of these machines (rental this time? Rug Doctor �- �Steaming Mad at Dirt!�)

The liquid in the recovery tank is filthier than the water in Lake Mohall.

The thickest sludge came from two locations: Codeman�s bedroom (surprise!), and the side porch. Since I use the side porch as a bedding plant growing room, an easy way to bring the dogs in during the colder months, and a catch-all room this makes total sense.

Codeman�s room? Tony Bonehead lives there most hours of the day. He is a very large dog. And Codeman is an 18-year-old boy.

It is the dirtiest rug in the house by default�.


We finished the job in time to make it to Codeman�s baseball game (after a quick meal at the local BBQ shack).

He didn�t play again, of course.

Only 11 players dressed for the Varsity game. 10 played (one was the designated hitter)

Bet you can guess which player DIDN�T get on the field, can�t you?

He did coach first base, and did a damn fine job of it, too.

Mac won the game 8-5.

The teams were supposed to play a doubleheader (to make up for Saturday�s rainout), but the other coach changed his mind. Something about having to play the next two nights or something was his excuse for bailing out on the planned doubleheader tonight.

So now we will play them again on Friday night.

They will have to load up in their school bus and drive 65 miles to play us again.

Aren�t all of the school districts in money crisis right now?

Stupid.

That also means Mac now has to play games on Tuesday (in Flowertown again- Lease has to go with me this time), home on Thursday, Friday, and a doubleheader on Saturday.

That�s right- on the week we are taking our spring working vacation, we have to attend 6 fucking �Codeman isn�t playing, but we will be there anyway� baseball games.

Less than 3 full weeks left in the season, though.

�Bout time, for all involved ;)


My Dad called me last night around 9 pm.

He wanted to know who he should call for help on his homeowner�s insurance (we use the same agency).

Seems the strong winds yesterday not only ruined his baseball watching (Cub-Cardinals game canceled after 4 � innings, score Cards11-Cubs 9- rain and 125mph winds [or something like that] caused an early ending to one crazy game), they dropped � of a junky Silver Maple tree on top of his detached garage.

Luckily for him, it didn�t do any real damage to his garage. It did leave a mess to be cleaned up, but his homeowners insurance took care of it for him.

I would have removed it for him, but he said �I haven�t had a claim in 40 years, it�s about time they did something for ME!�

Hopefully, they won�t slam his premiums the next time it comes up for renewal. They told him they needed a few photos of the tree BEFORE the clean-up crew took care of the mess, so I stopped by this morning and took a few for him (his agency uses the same arborist that I picked to remove my shade-producers last March, so they took good care of him).

Anyway�� here are three photos from the scene of destruction.

First one shows the tree resting on the garage, with my Dad standing nearby for scale:

Yeah, it was pretty big. But it wouldn�t have been much trouble for us to cut it up. I wouldn�t want the wood for the fireplace, though. Maple in the hearth makes the whole house smell like sugary bacon, all the time.


The next two shots are just me, playing with the digital:

My Dad asked me what I was doing when I shot these two photos.

I told him I was trying to be creative, in case his adjuster wanted something out of the ordinary.

He has watched me trying to make something out of nothing with cameras for years, so he just smiled���.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top