Today's music?

Gladys - "Lucky" (1997 - Coolidge Records)...The other album by the band led by Joleen's kitty ;)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, May. 14, 2003 - 9:45 p.m.

23 years of���Plus- photos of a project that took most of the day(and most of my patience, too)

Marriage.

That would be Lease and I , as of today.

This is where I could write a long, eloquent entry about how much Lease means to me, and how life has been nothing but candy and nuts for 23 years.

I could, but I won�t . Not that our life together isn�t great, because it is.

If you stop by here on a regular basis, you should have a pretty good read on what my wife means to me. I don�t even want to try to put it into words in my �journal�, because they won�t convey what I think of her properly. Our life together has been full of love, but not in some �gee- everything is perfect and nothing bad ever happens to us, by gosh� sort of way.

We are human. We have silly arguments now and then over silly things (usually involving my mouth and something stupid I said, but that�s not the point), but they never become something bigger than what we have as a man and wife.

I don�t expect Lease to stop by and read this (she doesn�t read my ramblings very often), but I will put it here anyway:

I love you, Lease. Have since the day I fell for you, more than 23 years ago.

Always will.


See why I didn�t want to try to put our life into words?

What I wrote sounds like something from a .99 cent greeting card.

Not my intent, but �..


So- what do you do on your 23rd anniversary?

If you are Lease and I, you wake up thinking that today is the day BEFORE your anniversary, not the actual day.

And you don�t realize that today is even your anniversary until one of you (me) clicks on Microsoft Outlook Express, starts reading your daily delivery of cartoons from Comics.com , and notice the date posted for each panel (um- that would be May 14th).

After checking my desk calendar, I had to break the news to Lease.

She thought I was pulling her leg. She also checked the calendar, and then started laughing out loud.

�Wait,� she told me. �If today is the 14th, that means I have to get ready and head to the dentist. I told you I had to get my crown on the broken tooth today, on our anniversary!�

She dug the appointment card out of her purse, and started laughing again.

Her appointment is for tomorrow, the 15th.

We have had this mental block about our wedding date for the last 15 years or so. One of us or the other decides that our wedding date is the 15th, not the 14th. Sometimes it�s me, sometimes it�s her.

I don�t know why we do this. Brain damage, I think.

So I guess this year it was her turn.


So what did we do today?

Lease emptied out three closets (her bedroom closet, the computer rooms closet, and the hall enclosure- sorry, I was tired of typing the word �closet�)

After everything was out, I mounted new shelves in the two upstairs. I had planned on using those pre-made wire mesh shelves, but they wouldn�t work right in our old house. They are designed to be mounted in the 2x4 studs in every house built since the invent of drywall.

Since we have old �plaster and lathe� walls, the anchors wouldn�t work. I tried to use them, but they wouldn�t go through the lathes, causing chunks of plaster to break loose on each hit from the hammer.

I decided to make the shelves out of 1�x8� pieces of pine. I should have done this in the first place, but thought the wire shelves would be easier.

Wrong.

After doing a little scribbling on a sheet of paper, I drove to the local Furrows to pick up the needed wood. Picked up 6 bags of white pine mulch for the garden, too, so the extra trip was productive.

After cutting and fitting the shelves, I had to paint them (and the walls inside each closet) with the trim color we use on most of the house (Antique White).

I think I have now officially painted every square inch of this house at least on time in the 8 years we have lived here. The closets were still a puke shade of yellow that was dear to the hearts of this houses former owner. That, or he picked up several cases of it on a discount shelve, years ago. He had it on the walls of the kitchen, basement stairwell, daughter�s bedroom, and all of the closets.

Sick fuckers, they were�.

This photo also shows you how well he could read a level. I used one, along with a yardstick, to make sure I had our new shelves level.

I then made the mistake of walking back far enough to see how the other shelves were mounted. That is why there are two sets of holes in this photo. The first ones are level . I had to fill them with plaster, and then marked new ones to match the other two shelves already mounted (by the former owner):

Yes, that is about a 1� drop at the corner. This, on a shelve only 4� long.

A carpenter he was not�.

And no, the color has NOT been juiced up by my photo-editing program. It was really that horrible�..

This photo shows the unpainted (but mounted) shelve I built in the computer room�s closet, before I painted it. You can kind see the new color on the trim board. I almost forgot to point the digital at my work, before I covered it with paint:

If you look close, you will see the metal straps I spaced every foot or so on this LONG shelve (86� long) to help reinforce the two 8� boards I mounted side-by-side. I might still have to add a couple of l-shaped braces to help add more support (if it starts to sag under the weight)


Last photo:

This is Lease�s small closet, after I had mounted the new shelves (on the top of photo), but before I had completed one coat of paint.

She is happy with the final product, so I guess I am too.

I am not a carpenter, either. I just do what I can with power tools, without cutting my digits off.

This job took almost 7 hours, from start to finish.

Would have taken a professional about half that amount of time.

But- I never said I was a professional, did I?

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top