Today's music?

Staind - "14 Shades of Gray" (2003- Elecktra Recods)...More sad stuff, from a band that does it the best....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, May. 26, 2003 - 9:20 p.m.

Summing up the weekend in 500 words or less? Nope-can�t do it- I guess photos will be necessary?

A VERY busy, event-filled weekend.

I won�t even try to say it with words.

If you have been around here much, you know my use of words is below the national average for competency.

Rather than try to sum up this busy weekend with words, I will just cop-put and past a bunch of photos.

So---- if you web browser hasn�t crashed at this point, here are a few photos to sum up the rest of the weekend�


I had an unusual flower bloom in my front beds this weekend.

I planted this bulb a few years ago (-Dracunculus vulgaris- I think?), mainly because the catalog description made it sound unbearable.

It came up two springs ago, put out this obnoxious smelling flower, and died in less than a week.

Last summer?

Nothing. It didn�t produce foliage, let alone a flower in the spring.

This year?

It decided to give it a go again.

The foliage came up last month.

I didn�t expect a bloom, but it decided to come thru once again:

Yes, it is every bit as ugly as it looks in this photo.

But the photo doesn�t give this flower�s smell any justice.

It smells (to put it mildly) like road kill.

As in- a raccoon, after a semi flattens it, only 10 days later.

In the hottest days of summer.

Yeah, that�s about right.

J-rod stopped by today, and he didn�t notice the smell when he came in. I mentioned the plant, and asked him to go back outside.

He walked out the door, made it to the porch, and said, �NOW, I smell it!�:

Yeah- it is that bad.

Here is another photo, showing you what insect pollinates this smelly flower:

Yes , that is a fly that, if it wasn�t for my smelly flower, would be looking for a pile of dog crap to lay its eggs.

That is as simple as I can put it- I have the smelliest flower in North Dakota right now, and all of the flies that would be attracted to dead animals are here instead.

Yes, I am very proud�..


Enough writing: here are the photos�..

Lease, Jules, and Gary- watching the boat races�


�CAN WE PLEASE GO HOME NOW?�

This woman just looked thrilled to death, so I had to snap a shot when she wasn�t looking�.


When I saw him, I knew I had to get a photo of Lease with him:

And, yes- he is the all-time tallest and ugliest Elvis impersonator of all time�..


My favorite photo from the boat races:

Now- if I could just remove the power line from the shot? I would be very happy�


I don�t know what motivated these children to wade into Lake Mohall, but I do know this: the possibility of any of them having children of their own down the road is now very remote.

That is, if they survive the exposure to Lake Mohall water to make it to adulthood themselves:

I hope their parents have decent health insurance, that�s all I can say�.


So, aside form being bitten by one of my sister�s dogs, and my step-mom spending the weekend in the hospital (an intestinal blockage, due to complications due to cancer surgery last year)), I guess this weekend went as smoothly as possible.

I look forward to a �normal� week for the next 7 days�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top