Today's music?

Bruce Springsteen - "The Rising" (2002 - Columbia Records) a Half.com bargain pickup ($2.50!), and a great "Boss" album,



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, May. 28, 2003 - 8:18 p.m.

One sure sign that our boy is now an adult�plus- how did we figure out who the lost camera belonged to?

First off- a photo that explains the first part of today�s title:

How does this make our boy an adult, you ask?

Because he is now officially in debt. No cosigner, no hassle. He traded his Grand Am in, cut them a personal check for $2000 (the amount he saved back starting last fall, to prove to me that he could make a loan payment), and borrowed the rest from our local credit union.

I convinced him to get a three-year loan, under the conditions that he pay it off in 26 months. He can easily afford the payments plus a little more, if he keeps working. If he has a slow month at work (or has some repair that sets him back), he can just make the small payment. If not, I told him we expect to see proof that he is paying ahead.

The vehicle?

It is a 2000 Ford Ranger. It has 33,000 miles (very low), is in top condition with no visible leaks or rust, and handles like a brand new truck.

On the negative ledger, the tires will have to be replaced in the next 5,000 miles or so. It has a cassette player, which you just know will have to be replaced with his cd deck he removed from the old car. And it is a small truck, which means he can only haul around 1 other person comfortably.

Like I said- he is 18 years old now. He doesn�t need my permission to buy a vehicle, but he does need me to help him pay his insurance.

I don�t think he will let us down��..


Now, the news about the expensive digital camera found by a coworker yesterday�..

(Click here, if you don�t know what I am talking about)

I took the camera back into the storage this morning, and I asked the �finder� what he would do if we somehow found out who lost the camera. He said he would like to keep it, but would give it back anyway.

Funny thing�the second person I showed the photo of the married couple (out of 66 photos on the Smartmedia card, 59 were of a toddler, 2 were of �grandparents� and 4 were of the child and the backs of one of the parents. Only one shot was of the faces of the couple. Anyway�.) said, �Hey, I know that guy! He is (insert name here), and he lives just down the road form me! Don�t you remember him, Roadiepig?�

As soon as he said the man�s name, I did. He worked at our storage 22 winters ago as a full-time temporary during snow season. 22 years ago! He continued on as a snowbird, working a few storms a winter for a few more years, and then drifted away.

Just to make sure, I had a couple more old-timers look at the photo. They each laughed when the saw the shot.

How strange is that? The camera was found about � the way between the owner�s house, and his mother�s house on the south side of the county. For all intents and purposes, it should have shattered in a million pieces when it fell onto the pavement. But it didn�t.

I looked up the old NDDOT employee�s phone number in the white pages, and gave them a call. When a woman answered the phone, I explained who I was, and asked her this question:, �Have you lost anything valuable lately?�

Her response? �A camera! Did you find a camera?!�

I told her that another worker did, and let her know where she could pick it up. She told me that she thinks that her husband left the camera on the dropped tailgate of his pick-up truck when he left his mom�s house, and discovered it was gone once he got home.

How it rode on the tailgate for 5 miles before gently sliding off onto the shoulder I can only wonder.

Nobody came today to claim the camera, so I stored it upstairs in a locked storage cabinet. I figure they will make it in tomorrow.

Before I put the camera away, Little Guy had a good idea: why not take photos of all of the guys who worked with him in the past?

I took a couple of photos of all 6 of us, and left them on the card. That way, when he hooks it up to their computer to download the other 66 files, he will get a pleasant surprise�..


Am I disappointed that I won�t get a shot at buying this camera from the guy who found it?

Nawwww.

I�m still holding out hope that I can someday afford this beauty.

Last year, an EOS camera body in digital format started at $3000. Now, it�s down to around $1495.

Maybe in another year or two, it will be within my reach.��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top