Today's music?

Superdrag - "Last Call for Vitrol" (2002- Arrco records)...great hard British rock, with a nod to the sounds of 1970's ar



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Jun. 01, 2003 - 8:17 p.m.

A great �nothing important� kinda day�plus, a photo that should �crack� you up�

Sunday.

If you look to the Bible for inspiration (I don�t , as you already know), Sunday is supposed to be a day of rest.

�A day of rest� can mean several things to different people.

To me, Sunday in the spring means whipping my garden into shape, and catching up on other physical tasks.

Today, that meant moving extra volunteer Black-eyed Susans (rudbeckia) plants from areas I didn�t want them to grow in to areas I did want them to grow in. I must have moved 50 plants this morning. Many won�t survive (it�s getting late into the season, and the hot weather soon to come will kill some), but those that do will give us extra color in areas that would have been bare.

I also took some of the extra marigolds from the plants that sprouted along the sidewalk, and put them in other gaps in the front beds. I always end up with tons of extra seedlings from my sidewalk. Instead of just pulling them and tossing them into the compost pile, I try to shuffle a few around. If it doesn�t get too hot too quickly, I will have a bunch of extra blooms for no cost�.


Since we weren�t planning on leaving the house today (I did run to Ace hardware to pick up Miracle Grow� and Eagle to buy Lease her coffee singles, but that�s it), that meant we could toss some animal flesh into the smoker. While picking up our weekly groceries at Wallyworld yesterday, I noticed a real bargain- chicken leg quarters for .39 cents a pound. A bag containing 5 pounds of meat only set us back $1.90!

I started the charcoal at 3:30 today. We ate our dinner at 6. Two and one half hours in the smoker, several additions of fresh charcoal and wood chips, and we had a great meal for pennies.

I guess I should include the cost of the charcoal. It might have cost more than the meat.

No problem. Lease and I each finished off 4 pieces of chicken (I�m a thigh man, she loves legs), and we still have enough left to throw together a quick meal of bbq chicken sandwiches later this week�.


One last item:

I also found the time to wash both Lease�s Grand Am (couldn�t have her driving to Springpatch in a dirty car, could I?) and the Hillbilly truck this after noon.

I haven�t peeled the grime off of the Do(d) g (e) since early March. I could have waited longer, but I was having trouble seeing out of the windshield, so�

Anyway�.

While I was scrubbing the film off of the white letters on the tires (Wesley�s Bleach-White does great), I noticed something odd growing in the crack between the driveway and the retaining wall.

It was only about 5� tall, but it didn�t take a genius to figure out what it was:

Yup- it�s wacky-tobacky.

The demon weed.

Mary Jane.

Growing in a crack in my driveway.

How did it sprout up there? Good question.

All I know is I have had marijuana grow in odd places on my property several times in the past. In our old house, I once found a plant growing in a hedgerow that was almost 4 foot tall.

It dried up good, and provided us several evenings of fun back in the days when we didn�t have to piss into bottles to keep our jobs.

This plant is still in the crack. I don�t plan on harvesting it, though.

I am just waiting for the Task Force cop who lives next store to come home to show it to him.

Hopefully he won�t slap the cuffs on me for the manufacturing/growing of a controlled substance�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top