Today's music?

Hot Hot Heat - "Make up the Breakdown" - (2002 - Sub Pop Records) Different, yet familiar- reminds me of The Jam, or XTC (some



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Jun. 07, 2003 - 4:04 p.m.

A couple of quick photos to freak some of you out�.

Lease and I spent most of the day getting everything ready for Codeman�s belated graduation party. I think the house is as ready as it can be , inside and out.

One of the items on my list today was to bring a few dry pieces of firewood up to the patio. That way, if the temperature drops a little after sunset we can have a fire in the patio fireplace/sorta grill thing we use for that purpose.

I have about half of my wood still covered with a plastic tarp. I covered the old wood last winter to keep it from getting waterlogged, and I just hadn�t gotten around to taking off the tarp.

I reached up under the tarp, pulled the corner of the tarp up, and was greeted by this sight:

Calm down! They can get to you through your computer monitor!

(I imagine San-D has stopped reading this entry by now)

There were a total of 7 common garter snakes, resting underneath the tarp on top of the firewood. I don�t know hwy they were still under the tarp that late in the day (1 p.m.). The morning was overcast and slightly foggy, but the temperature was already up to the mid 70�s. They should have been warm enough to be doing whatever it is that garter snakes do during the day by that time.

By the time I had returned to the woodpile with my camera, there were only 4 snakes left. They didn�t like the flash from my camera, and left right after I took these photos.

Garter snakes are insect eaters, and I do everything I can to encourage them to stick around. If I could do a census on the number of full-time residents I have here, garter snake-wise, I think anyone with a phobia towards snakes would never visit my house again.

One last photo, before I head down to start the charcoal:

Pretty ferocious looking, isn�t it? This one had to be at least 3 foot long! Terrifying!

I usually just leave them alone whenever I come across one in the garden. I don�t want to spook them, and I don�t handle them unless they are in my path when I am mowing the yard.

About the only thing a garter snake will do to a human is defecate on you if you pick it up.

And that won�t happen if you hold them far enough away from your body��..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top