Today's music?

Steely Dan - "Everything Must Go" (2003- Warner-Reprise records) Three years between releases makes one miss the 'Dan



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Jun. 12, 2003 - 6:08 p.m.

I don�t know where the last 48 hours went to? �and- Codeman actually had an enjoyable awards ceremony�.

The last thing I remember from yesterday morning was playing with my pet Gambian Giant rat �Harold�. I remember him chomping down on my left thumb, and then:

The next thing I remember was waking up on the floor with open sores on my hands and feet, and a crust over my eyes.

Anyway�that is my excuse for not posting anything here yesterday, and I�m sticking to it�


No, I don�t own a Gambian Giant rat.

I have had several �exotic� pets through the years (a 4� long Green iguana, Tokay geckos, Great Plains skinks, Guinea pigs, assorted turtles, and even an Albino Red Rat snake)

No Gambian Giant rats, though.


We ran late last night. The baseball awards ceremony started at 6, and didn�t get over until 8 pm. That didn�t leave time to play much on the computer.

Two things happened last night that threw me for a loop.

1. Weebles the coach said some very nice things about Codeman. No �I love this boy like he�s my son� bullshit that he has said before about a player he dion�t play much. That is what we expected.

No, he said that Codeman was one of the hardest workers he has had, and that he was always the first player to show up for practice, and was always willing to do whatever was needed for the team. He said he admired Codeman for sticking through the adversity he faced (he didn�t mention that he, the coach, was much of the adversity). He said that Codeman did a good job pitching when he got his chance, and hit the ball hard. He said he hopes that Codeman stays involved in the game, because he knows how much Codeman loves baseball.

All nice things to say about a player who really didn�t get a chance to play.

He also gave each kid a final stats sheet with their pitching, hitting, and fielding statistics.

Codeman was the only player on his team with a fielding percentage of 1.000.

That means he didn�t make an error all year. He only made 2 in four seasons. Why didn�t the coach notice this, and give him more playing time in the outfield? His �pets� made errors in almost every game!

His era (earned run average per 7 innings) was 1. 75.

The lowest era by any other pitcher on the team was 3.45.

His batting average was .296 for the season. That placed him 4th on the squad, and ahead of the batters he put 3rd, 6th, and 7th in his usual lineup.

So (like I have written to death before), Codeman did everything he could to prove he deserved better treatment than he got.

At least the coach figured it out. Too bad it wasn�t until after the season was over�.


What was loop-thrower #2 ?

Weebles started his ceremony by saying that he had printed a nice photo of each player and attached it to the envelope containing the letter/ patch that each player earned. He said, �I want to thank Mr. Roadiepig, Codeman�s father, for being our unofficial photographer all season, and for giving me a cd with photos from several of our games. This is how I was able to print the nice photo on each of your award your packages�.

You could have pushed me over with a feather.

I didn�t take the pictures for anybody but the boys on the team, and for their parents. I have given the coach photos (the first two years) or a cd-rom (the past two years), but I didn�t think he even looked at them��


One last thing- he scheduled the picnic/awards ceremony for Wednesday night so that the boys on the two Mohall American Legion summer baseball teams wouldn�t have to miss a game.

Codeman, on the other hand, missed his first rec-league softball game.

Not as important as Legion ball, but still���.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top