Today's music?

Steely Dan - "Everything Must Go" (2003- Warner-Reprise records) Three years between releases makes one miss the 'Dan



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Jun. 13, 2003 - 5:24 p.m.

Friday Fotos (using the road find camera)��

Since the owner of the camera found on our R.O.W. still hadn�t shown up to claim it, I decided to take one of my SmartMedia cards and some batteries to work today, and see how well it works.

After shooting 50 photos or so with this 4.0 megapixel Olympus (all on my own time, for those ready to dial the 1-800-NDDOT-workers-goofing-off line), and I came to the following conclusion:

I like my less-expensive Fuji a helluva lot more than this road find.

You would assume that by paying around $200 more than I did for my digital, you would have a much better camera. I will admit that by going from 2.0 to 4.0 megapixels, I had a much larger image to play with on my photo editing programs. This would come in handy for any tight cropping of an image.

But the more expensive camera only features a 3x optical zoom (as opposed to my Fuji�s 6x), and no digital zoom (3x on the Fuji). This means I couldn�t use it for nature or sports photography the way I have become accustomed to with both my Canon Rebel EOS and Fuji zoom.

I also took a few very close shots using the camera�s Macro setting, and was very disappointed at how far away I had to be to get the lens to focus. I have practically stuck my camera�s lens into a flower bloom and came away with a focused shot. The Olympus had to be at least 2� away, making this feature about useless.

Of course - that�s just my opinion. Someone else might decide that the Olympus blows my camera away.

All I know is I am leaning more and more towards the Fuji Finepix S602 for my next camera.

Of course, with the boy heading to college this fall, the next camera purchase might not be for 4 more years�..


Oh yeah, I forgot to mention the funniest part about playing with the road find camera today: the owner called the storage at 3:45, apologized for not picking it up already, and asked if I would send it home with one of my coworkers (who is distantly related to her).

This, after it sat around for almost 3 weeks after the first phone call.

I imagine the finder won�t be getting a reward. I kinda wonder if that isn�t why she wants it brought to her, instead of driving out to pick it up at the storage.

Damn, I am about a cynic, aren�t I?


Since it is Friday, I will cut this short and leave you with a garden shot taken with the Olympus today, and a heavily edited photo of the adjacent cornfield:

This is a shot of the heirloom purple Brussels Sprout I am growing this year (�Rubine�).

I will admit it is a eye catcher, with the purple veining of the leaves and the dark purple stalk. So far, the sprout growth is minimal (less than my standard Sprout variety, �Bubbles�). Since I don�t harvest these sweet cole crops until after the first frost, time will tell if it will produce as well as it looks.


This next photo is of the new asphalt pavement in front of our storage, the cornfield across the road, and a few adjustments using my photo-editing program:

It rained on and off again today for the 6th day out of the last 8. The sky was dark to the west when I took the photo, and the pavement was wet. The extra saturation of color was from my computer.


This will be our first completely �free� weekend since early March. I don�t know for sure what we will do with all the extra time, but I am looking forward to not having a baseball-related time eater to take up our Saturday��..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top