Today's music?

Hot Hot Heat - "Make up the Breakdown" - (2002 - Sub Pop Records) Different, yet familiar- reminds me of The Jam, or XTC (some



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Jun. 14, 2003 - 11:41 p.m.

A great early summer day (what more can I say?)�

If you wanna read a �journal� describing how much someone thinks their life (and hence-the entire world) sucks, or how much the writer thinks that the increase in the cost of a pack of Kool 100�s to over $4.00 is the end of the world � you have stopped by the wrong �journal�.

You have been forewarned- today was a great day�


Slept in a little late (8:30 is late, if you get up at 6 am on a normal day).

Took Lease�s car to the Quickie-lube to change the oil. She has to drive to Springpatch for her car-pool next week, and I wanted to make sure the Grand Am was ready.

The tech there was trying to pay off his college loans (I think), because he kept walking into the lobby, asking me if I thought I should get the transmission flushed ($79? Wait a while, kid) or the air filter changed (do it- only about $4 more than if I bought one at Auto Zone anyway).

By the time I came home, Lease was ready to go�

Fishing.

I hooked up the boat, and we were out of here by 10 am.

Spent about 5 hours in our new favorite fishing area�.(Um- Zackal- let me know if you ever want to go there ;)

That would be the no wake area created by the Government to protect the Nuclear power plant from terrorist attacks.

Like there are tons of terrorists, lined up and ready to blow up nuclear power plants in Mohall, North Dakota�.

Anyway�

The Bluegill were still in the throws of passion (re; spawning) in several of the coves we tossed our cork and jig rigs into today. We did keep 14 �gills, but that fact doesn�t override my philosophy about fish in the act of reproducing.

Why, you might ask?

Because we only kept fish that we caught that were DONE SPAWNING.

How could I determine this fact?

Because the fish I kept were caught about 5-10 feet from the shoreline. They were already changing back to pre-spawn coloration. And they were all male Bluegills that didn�t �squirt� when I removed the hook from their mouths.

Any questions?

Send me an email�.


We did catch several VERY LARGE male bluegills today that were still guarding their nests, only a few feet from the shoreline (something like 20 or more big�uns).

These old bulls were as big a bluegills as we have ever caught out of the Power Plant lake.

How big?

The largest would have measured between 7� and 9�, and would have pushed the scales at � a pound or more.

That, folks, is a big Bluegill for North Dakota!

These old males had what is known as �hump heads�. That means that the area just before the eyes on the fish had a HUGE hump, instead of being smoothly tapered from snout to first fins on the back.

I have caught many fish like this in spring in Carbondale, but have caught very few like this anywhere near this far north in my lifetime.

Let me put it to you this way- we caught about 20 large male Bluegill today that I would be proud to show to ANYONE I know that also loved to fish, and we threw ALL OF THEM BACK TO SWIM ANOTHER DAY!

I told Lease that these are the grizzled old veterans, and they needed to be released to reproduce. If they were able to grow to this large size, and were smart enough to avoid being caught for this long (estimated age for a 8� Bluegill- 6 years!), then they should be allowed to continue to add their genes to the fabled �gene pool�, insuring that bigger and better Bluegills will be there for us to catch for years to come.

That, and there were so many fish hitting our jigs we could cull out all but a few of the middle-sized �gills- the perfect size for the frying pan ;)

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top