Today's music?

Hot Hot Heat - "Make up the Breakdown" - (2002 - Sub Pop Records) Different, yet familiar- reminds me of The Jam, or XTC (some



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Jun. 16, 2003 - 5:18 p.m.

Well, that was quick�

Yes, the blooming plant in yesterday�s photo was of cilantro that has been allowed to go to seed. Wantcarvel figured it out first, and was quickly followed by Weetabix, and Life-my-way. The other guesses were close (carrots , when in bloom look quite similar, Jimmyusual, and chervil has very similar flowers, Strangerlucy )

Anyway�..why so many cilantro plants , gone to seed?

I have already harvested all I could possibly use for salsa making, and for use in Thai and Mexican recipes. I have it tucked away safely in the deep freeze, waiting for the day when I need its strong, pungent green-ness to use in our cooking. I think it tastes just as good after it has been frozen as long as you add it to a cooked recipe. For raw salsa- only fresh will work.

I don�t have to plant cilantro anymore, because I have such a large area that comes up every spring. The area I leave for this purpose is now almost 5� x 5�, and has to be hoed and mowed back to keep it from taking up any more of the garden than it has already claimed. I stuffed three gallon-sized Ziploc� bags full with fresh cilantro back in early May, and then removed an area about 3 foot square to plant some okra (�Annie� and �Burgundy� varieties) in the now-free space.

Today, I spent about 10 minutes pulling weeds that were growing all around the young okra seedlings. I would estimate that 75% of these �weeds� were more cilantro plants, spurred to growth by the removal of the old plants.

So, if you are ever in the Mohall, North Dakota area, stop by. I always have far too much cilantro, and will gladly give away some to a fellow gardener/cook who asks for it�


I�m out of here.

Codeman will finally play his first slow pitch softball game in just a few minutes.

I am curious to see how he does hitting a ball that is pitched to him underhand, and with a large arch. He is used to hitting fastballs in the low 80�s, so this should take him a little while to get the hang of��.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top