Today's music?

Pat Kelly - 'High Heels' (1990 - Nippon Columbia co.)...Jazz guitarist, on the mellow side......



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Jun. 28, 2003 - 4:14 p.m.

Ever get that �Please help the Prince of Nigeria claim his royal fortune!� email? Looks like the originator wasn�t who he said he was (Gasp!)�plus- a car full of other people�s junk�

The following paragraph was part of my weekly email fromThis is True( if you haven�t already signed up for this free, funny items from the world newsletter, even though I have mentioned it here several times, then you are missing out on a good, free thing):

Prosecutors in Hamilton, Ont., Canada, have finally

gotten an arrest and conviction in a case of the notorious "Nigerian"

online scam. Millions of e-mails every month tout a scheme to let

victims get a share of millions of dollars, but only after paying

transfer fees, bribes, and other costs. Of course, the payback never

comes. Henry Statz, 61, pleaded guilty to fraud after netting C$6-15

million (US$4.4-11 million) in the scam. The victims "lost everything,"

says Hamilton detective Mark Simchison. "There is no further down to

go. They're in the gutter." Statz, who has fraud convictions dating

back to the 1960s, spent $100,000 a month on luxury living. So what's

the penalty for a career con man who has ruined so many people? He was

sentenced to 18 months of probation, less the 10 months he spent in

custody awaiting trial. (Canadian Press)

Damn1! I was all set up to send him the down payment towards my share of his royal millions!

Maybe I should just invest in that �Buy properties for 1 cent on the dollar!� email I got yesterday�.


Lease and I decided to stay local, and hit rummage sales today. We scored a few good buys, and generally enjoyed the nice day outside.

What did we buy?

2 boxes of pint canning jars for $5 (less than � of the cost of new ones)

A bag full of 50-cent paperbacks.

A set of 6 salad plates and a serving/salad bowl with roosters on it (Williams Sonoma) for $5.

Several other minor purchases that cost less than a buck each (glass ashtray, Tupperware� cheese box, a filled miniature perfume bottle of Avon �Unforgettable�)

Not a bad haul, for not really looking for anything in particular��


I am down to only 18 used half-pint canning jars. I will need more in the next 8 weeks or do, as long as my fruits and other crops come in. I still have peaches, nectarines, apricots, and grapes to turn into jam. I also plan on making pickle and onion relishes.

You can see that I will need a bunch more jars than the 18 used jars I have on hand.

For that reason, I bought 4 boxes (of 12 jars) at Big Lots today. The price on these little jars has steadily risen in the past few years. The price is now up to $4.99 a box. I think I used to buy them for $3 a case only 5 years ago!

I never find these at rummage sales. Well, that�s not true: I find one or two at a time sometimes, but never full cases.

I think the reason why is simple- people put jams and jellies into the half-pints. Most people then give away much of their work as gifts and whatnot. The larger jars are used to can up things that you eat in your own house, not things you give away (my salsa is the exception for me).

People never seem to give you back the jars given to them. I should mention that some of my friends and most of my family always return the empties over time. I always kid them that if they return the old jars, I can keep refilling them for them down the road.

I still need more than 66 half-pints. We will just have to keep looking for them��..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top