Today's music?

The Standards - "Standards" (1996 - BMG Sweden AB)....An eBay bargain, and a great rock album from a band I know nothing about



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Jun. 29, 2003 - 7:41 p.m.

A catch-up day,� am I a �Metrosexual��., and who are "The Standards?"

Managed to sleep in this morning. That is a good start to any Sunday, if you ask me.

Mowed the lawn, even thought the air was hot (87� by 10 am), and saturated with moisture. Heavy enough to make me short of breath, but that might have something to do with forgetting to take my meds this morning?

Weedeatered everything, and then set to planting the odds and ends I purchased yesterday (a couple of native prairie plants from a seller at the farmer�s market, and a few 50% off bedding flowers to fill in bare areas. Bare, because the terrible amount of baby rabbits I have had to deal with all spring and summer).

Finally decided I needed to pull the wild vine-weed that had climbed up the side of the garage and into both gutters. It had grown to the point that it filled the gutters, and spilled over the sides for the entire length of said gutters.

It looked somewhat tropical, but I think if we received any rain to speak of, it would be trapped in the troth. That would be a wonderful breeding ground for mosquitoes.

Not good.

So I drug by dangerous cheap-o ladder out, shimmied up high enough to grab sections of the vine, and tugged them down to the ground. I had trouble figuring out which vines were Boston ivy, and which were weeds vine from ground level. I don�t wanna remove the desirable Boston ivy, so this was the only way to remove the offensive intruder.

I finished up my yard work in about 4 hours. It took me the rest of the day to re-hydrate myself. I was dripping wet for most of the time I was working today. Lease constantly refilled my drink (Nutrasweet sweetened lemonade) , so I shouldn�t have been so parched. I think I emptied my large insulated mug three times this afternoon.

I am still thirsty.

That means I will probably have to hit the bathroom three or more times tonight, once I go to bed�..


I won�t comment too much on this article, but I will ask you to take a minute or so to read it

I don�t totally fit the description (I wouldn�t waste the time or money getting a facial or pedicure, and couldn�t tell you the name of two men�s designers), but if you know me, it does sound a lot like the person I am.

If you are one of the people out there who actually know me, or if you have been reading this page for any amount of time- think about the article a bit, and let me know if you agree that I might be a �metrosexual��.


I received a nice box-full-of-cheap-cds from an auction site on eBay last week, and am now just getting to listen to most of them.

I picked up a bunch of cds from bands who came and went before we had a chance to get to really know them (Chalk Farm, Local H, Deadeye Dick anyone?), plus a few more that I couldn�t find ANYTHING about on the web.

One of those albums is by a (I think) Swedish band know as The Standards. The album�s (creative) title is �Standards�

I tried my usual source, the AMG, but they had absolutely nothing on them.

I tried using Google, using several variations on the band�s name and album title, but received nothing back that pertained to them.

I bought the cd anyway. With shipping, it only set me back $1.09.

The cd was released in 1996. That was all I could find out about it beforehand, and that was because the seller listed the information on the listing page.

To make a short story long?

I love this disc! The sound is similar to Garbage, but much heavier in a hard rock kinda way. The singer sounds a lot like Shirley Manson (lead singer of Garbage), but the band behind her really rocked.

Has anyone out there ever heard of this band before? I know that they had to be a one-time project. This cd came out before the huge explosion of Swedish rock bands that happened about 2 years ago, so maybe they are associated with some of the new bands that have broken out recently?

I don�t know.

That is why I am asking you�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top