Today's music?

Crumbox "Map of the Sky" (1998 - Time Bomb Records) this band toured with the Toadies and Live, and has a similar sound.......



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Jun. 30, 2003 - 7:45 p.m.

How many canning jars for $10?�.plus a couple of photos of today�s harvesting, seeing how fast I can spend thousands of �your dollars��..

As I pulled into the parking lot this morning, Beavis was standing by his station wagon. Apparently, he was waiting for me to show up.

This could have meant that I had totally screwed up the budget last Friday without knowing it. That was my first thought.

It wasn�t that, thankfully.

Beavis is an avid rummage/yard/garage sale shopper, and he has found me a few canning jars here and there all spring. This, by itself, has surprised me. In all of the years I have known him, he has never been one to spend his money frivolously. He is always first in line for a free doughnut, and he always eats at any state lunch cookout without donating any money to the costs. So this behavior caught me off guard when he first brought me in a box of 20 jars that he bought for $1. He wouldn�t take my dollar for his trouble, either. I gave him a jar of mild salsa instead.

Last Monday, he had a grocery bag filled with pints that he also picked up for a buck. He was doing a lot better than we were, finding bargain jars so far this rummage season.

I was glad to find the two boxes of wide mouth pints last weekend for $2.50 a box.

Beavis did me one better.

Make that about 10 better.

He motioned me over to the wagon, and asked me,� How many canning jars do you think $10 will buy?�

He had so many jars packing into his car he was lucky he didn�t get in an accident on his way to work. He would have been shredded by the resulting broken glass.

He said the people having the sale had $2 a box on the jars, but it was getting late in the day. He offered them $10 for the whole lot, and they took it. These jars are old to very old. The boxes were rotten, so he took them home as best he could and repackaged them with boxes he had around the house.

Oh yeah- how many jars DOES $10 buy you?

Try 135 good pints, (only) 6 half-pints, and 70+ quarts!

Less than a nickel per useable jar! I gladly paid him his $10 back, and will have to bring him in a few jars of last year�s salsa or something for his efforts.

I sorted through the pints to remove any mayo jars (not think enough to can in safely), and then picked out the oldest quarts to add to my stockpile. I ended up putting about 50 mayo jars, plus a few good quarts on the curb. Tomorrow is recycle day. I�m sure the recycle guy will be angry when he sees all of those jars waiting on him.

So, I am set for jars for the next couple of years or so. I have only stumbled upon a deal like this once before. I offered to take the entire stock of old jars from an estate sale for about the same price. Those jars lasted me t least 3 years without having to bug people to return their empties to me.

BTW- I am still in need of half-pints (with screw top closure, not the old paraffin wax type), in case any of you find me a bargain out there��.


I harvested two things from my garden today:

This is my crop of Vidalia onions.

They don�t grow as big here in North Dakota as they do in Georgia (duh!), but they provide us with an early harvest of sweet onions. The baseball is there for size comparison (again- baseballs just make a handy scale reference). Some of the bulbs are larger than the ball, and some are smaller.

All in all, a decent return on the $3.58 investment that I planted 3 months ago�.


Hey lookie- there�s that baseball again!

It�s there to show you how small these summer squash are. The variety is �Papaya Pear�. It �s new, and won the All-American award for 2003. The plants are compact like a zucchini, but each plant had several fully formed pear shaped fruits, ready to harvest, on them this morning. Each plant was also covered with blooms. I guess they weren�t exaggerating when they said this plant was prolific.

I cooked several of them, sliced, in the wok tonight. Added a little garlic to the peanut oil, and finished them with a little Japanese cooking sauce (I can�t read the label on the bottle, so I can�t tell you who makes it. It has a sweet/soy flavor, with rice wine and ginger spiking the mix).

Very tasty. Much sweeter than most summer squash. I will have to try it with a hot Chinese sauce next time I cook it��


Today was the last day of the fiscal year.

Before I sat down at my desk, I had a note handed to me telling me to spend $4875 on off-road and $1500 on truck parts. Extra money had been discovered in London.

I called a couple of our mower parts suppliers and the state garage, and ended up with less than $20 left of each pot.

I thought I was done.

I was wrong.

The purchasing agent in London called me at 2:15, 45 minutes before I was to leave work for the day (they aren�t on early hours, and are in their offices until 5 pm every day).

She had another $4000 in truck money, and she wanted to know if there was anything I could spend it on.

By 2:25, I had it spent at the state garage in Springpatch. No easy task, because they could only sell me items they had on hand. I bought mostly tires, and hung up $3984 lighter in the taxpayer�s pocketbook

I made sure I was out of there at 3. I am willing to wager that someone from London was on the phone as I walked to my truck.

I heard the phone ringing, but I left it to management personnel to answer it.

I am just spent out��..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top