Today's music?

None........



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Jul. 04, 2003 - 11:59 p.m.

Happy Tax Freedom Day!�.Oh wait, that�s not what today is, is it?

I was a little confused there for a second. When I heard someone on the morning news say �Happy Independence Day!�, I thought they meant today was the day that we finally stop working to pay the government, and start working for ourselves.

You know- since it is about halfway through the year, that would mean that we had finally paid the 50% or so of our income it takes to pay for bombs, food stamps, and scientific studies on the reproductive habits of prairie dogs in central Arizona.

Oh well- any holiday that include family cookouts and blowing things up is fine by me�


The squirrels returned to my backyard today.

Not nearly as anticipated as the swallows returning to Capistrano, but just as predictable.

I found three peaches partially eaten on the ground below my early tree yesterday afternoon. No sigh of the tree rats, but evidence that they had found the greener-than-a-gourd fruits.

My apricot tree had set its first real crop of fruit this spring, and I was afraid they tree rats would return in time to devour all of the crop before it ripened. I filled a large Tupperware� bowl (no-no longer available at Target). Somehow, the scent of apricot nectar hadn�t reached them until today.

Hang on�..someone is at the door�

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I�m back��It was Zackal. He stopped by to share his Cherry Bomb Ale that he home-brewed.

It was very good. Sipping beer at its best. Somewhat sweet, but very high in alcohol none the less. We split 5 bottles over two hours, so no problem in either of us being overly intoxicated.

Where was I?

Oh yeah�the apricot crop in peril�

I noticed a couple of partly eaten apricots on the ground. This tree is all of 7 feet tall, so if they eat even a little of the fruit, they do damage to my harvest.

Where were the tree rats?

In the peach tree, looking down on me. I noticed them when one of them started squawking at me. I guess it pissed them off, interrupting their free meal.

I shooed them off (my bb gun is out of CO2, or I would have given them extra incentive to leave my property).

I then attached a 5-gallon bucket to my belt, and I harvested almost all of the ripe and near ripe fruit form the apricot tree. I left a few very green fruit on the tree, just to see how long they last until the squirrels find the,

No, I don�t expect to get any peaches from me trees this year. I can always pick up great fruit from the downtown farmer�s market.

I just have to decide if I want to feed tree rats, or if I want to cut the trees down rather than aid them in their life of crime.

Right now, I am leaning towards the removal of my spindly peach trees. Why watch the small crop be raided every summer?

It is either that, or I buy a more powerful pellet gun.

I would buy a .22, but I do live within city limits.

Don�t wanna have to go to court because of the death of tree rats�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top