Today's music?

The Figgs - "Low-Fi at Society High" (1994 - Imago Records)...think early Elvis Costello, with a heavier rock band behind him



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Jul. 07, 2003 - 7:11 p.m.

Hot dog.Very hot dog��.

Today was (according to the local weather babe) the hottest day of 2003. The high reached 96�, according to my Weather Bug page on my computer. The humidity was near 60% most of the afternoon.

So, what is the most logical thing to do when I get off of work at 3pm?

That�s right- drive Codeman�s 70 pound dog , Tony Bonehead, to the vet for his overdue, yearly vaccinations.

In the Hillbilly truck.

Which is a 5-speed/ stick shift.

With NO FREAKIN� AIR CONDITIONING!

I didn�t realize that he was so far overdue, but then again, he is only a resident of this house. He is the boy�s dog, and the boy�s responsibility.

Which, of course, is why I had to take him to the vet. Codeman has been putting in 60+ hour weeks at the new puppy and kitten adoption center that his vet and three other vets have opened in our local mall.

So the job of hauling him to the vet fell upon me. If he weren�t vaccinated by the 10th, he would be out of record for rabies tags. I don�t know what the fine is for that, but I don�t want to give them any more money for this yearly obligation than I have to.

I put Tony�s harness on him, which sent him into happy mode. He loves to go for a walk, and he thought that was what I had planned for him.

Instead, I loaded him into the truck. He enjoys going for a ride, too, so he plopped down on the passenger side and stuck his nose out the partially- opened window.

Being that is was at the hottest time of the day, he was panting heavily before we made it to the first stop sign. I turned the vent fan on the dash, but it just threw heavy, hot air onto the two of us. I could tell he was miserable, but we had two stops to make before I could bring him back home to the air conditioning.

Stop one was the local non-profit senior citizen�s center. They always have an electric fan drive in the summer, but this year they have had trouble getting what they usually receive. Might have something to do with the dead job market here in Mohall?

We picked a box fan up at Wallyworld on Saturday, and I didn�t want to wait past today to get it to them. It is still supposed to be very hot for the rest of the week, so the sooner it gets in the right persons hands, the better.

I didn�t want to leave Tony in the baking cab of the truck, so I took him inside with me. I was a little concerned that they would be angry that I brought a dog into their center.

I was wrong. All of the women in the reception area wanted the pat his head and tell him what a good dog he was. Tony just ate it up. He loves any positive attention he can get.

After this short stop, we drove the rest of the way to the vet�s office.

Everyone there was glad to see him, too. Considering he lived his first 16 months of life in a cage there, recovering from his automobile accident, you would think he would do everything he could to stay out of the building. He practically drags me up the steps, and jumps up with his front paws onto the reception counter. Head pats and snacks are soon to follow any appearance by Tony at the vets.

He took his vaccination shots like a trouper, only jumped off of the elevated scale once (trying to follow one of the women back to the front desk), and seemed rather sad to be leaving, once the work was done.

He spent most of the ride home with his head across my right shoulder, dripping globs of Bonehead saliva onto my work shirt.

I think all the attention wore him out. He has been sacked out on the top step of our stairway ever since I brought him home.

Well, he did get up long enough to great Lease when she walked in the door. He didn�t miss his chance to jump up onto her, nearly knocking her down, like he does every other night of the work week.

When I come home?

He sits at the top of the steps, and waits for me to say the magic words (�Go outside Tony?�) before he comes down to the ground floor.

Not that I would want him to jump on me, but he could at least great me at the door, couldn�t he?

Nope.

Codeman says it�s because I am the Alpha male in this house�s �pack�.

Oh well- at least he doesn�t run and hide when I come home anymore. He did that for a long time, once we made him a member of our family��.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top