Today's music?

July For Kings - "Swim" (2002 -MCA records) If you like Matchbox 20 or Collective Soul, you would like this album....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Jul. 09, 2003 - 7:40 p.m.

Another hot, missed forecast kinda summer day�.plus- my garage is full of garlic and onions. You can tell this, even if I don�t open the door�.

We received some much-needed rain last night. My gauge here had 1.1� of rain in it this morning, and the one at work had 1.25�. There is water standing in the ditches.

Just what the gardener in me was hoping for.

Today�s forecast was for heavy rain, high winds, and a nearly 100% chance of rain all day. The high was only to reach the mid 80�s.

Instead, the sun was out all day, the air was saturated, and the high reached 92�.

Maybe the system decided to take its time getting here. It sure looks like rain to the north as I am writing this�..


I was able to remove the other half of my work-garden grown garlic with far less effort this morning.

At least two varieties that I planted last fall didn�t produce well for me. I didn�t have time to check the mini-blind tags to see which they were, but the tags are still in the ground. I�ll check them tomorrow morning. They were at the front of each variety when I planted the cloves last fall. They are now totally covered with the ever-expanding vines of my pumpkins and winter squash plants.

I still have the small area of garlic that is growing in the bottom garden to harvest, but for some reason theses plants are still very green. I might dig them this weekend, if I have time. As long as they stay green, they are still growing underground. My garlic at work was almost completely brown, so it had to come up. There is no hurry for the plants here at home.

Here are a couple of shots of the inside of my garage, to show you how many bulbs (both garlic and Vidalia) I am in the process of �curing�:

The Vidalia onions can be seen in the bottom of the frame. I think they are about ready to bring inside.

The onions in this shot are the Yellow Globes I pulled yesterday.

All together, I might have harvested 100 garlic bulbs in various sizes.

More than enough for our salsa and table needs for the next 12 months. I offered to give some of the fresh garlic to my coworkers, but only one of the new guys took me up on it.

The people who retired last winter all took some of my freebies, but the new group of guys doesn�t seem to be the cooking hobbyists that they were.

Might have to cut back on garlic this fall��.


I stopped by my Sis�s house on the way home tonight. My reason for the visit was to harvest her crop of wild red raspberries.

Yeah, wild red raspberries.

She bought the canes from a supplier how specializes in heirloom and odd varieties. She only had a small crop on these canes last year, but the wet weather this spring left them heavy with fruit.

The berries are much smaller than supermarket reds, and they are firmer, too. Each berry starts out covered with a spiky husk that opens as the fruit matures. When I picked them, my hands became sticky. She said that the variety has a waxy coating on the husks, and that was now all over my hands. The canes also have as many thorns as a wild blackberry plant.

That is to say- they are similar to razor wire. My arms were just starting to heal from picking the wild black raspberries on the right-of-way last month.

Now? Looks like I lost a fight with a wild cat.

I had enough fruit to make a batch of jam tonight. Well, not quite enough- I had to add a few of my frozen red raspberries from my hybrid canes.

5 cups of smashed berries is a helluva lot of fruit, let me tell ya.

I ended up with 10 half-pints, and another half almost full for my immediate consumption.

Not bad for one hour of work, from picking to taking the jars out of the hot water bath�


Yes, all I do this time of year is harvest and preserve.

It is by choice, not necessity.

This is when all of the hard work you put into growing a garden comes to fruition.

I go to bed tired, but content.

If you have read this �journal� for any amount of time, I don�t have to explain this to you, do I?


One last photo:

If this flower looks familiar, it was featured on this page just a few weeks ago.

This Black-eyed Susan plant managed to find a way to sprout and grow in a small crack in our driveway. It bloomed for the last 3 weeks, and was a conversation piece for anyone who stopped by.

But the 60+ mph winds gusts last night were too much for its fragile roots to withstand. I found it when I took the garbage outside late last evening, sprawled out on the ground a good 4 feet from where it once grew.

I only thought it was fitting that I trimmed the stems and gave it a few more days to show its colors ,even thought the picture I put here is in black and white��..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top