Today's music?

The Figgs - "Low-Fi at Society High" (1994 - Imago Records)...think early Elvis Costello, with a heavier rock band behind him



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Jul. 12, 2003 - 6:19 p.m.

A somewhat short (for me) Saturday entry- so you can move along quickly to your next destination�..

I have to think that if the people who run the Brinks Armored Cars company would want to improve the public�s impression of them, all they would have to do is follow the Sam�s Club�s lead. Just have their drivers gave out free sample like the folks at Sam�s do, every weekend (Tyson�s chicken nuggets, Uncle Ben�s pasta bowls, Spicy hot wings, and some �clair desert this morning at 10:30), and I bet we would all think they are the greatest company on Earth�.


Replaced the quickly-dieing Sharp VCR in the bedroom today. It had served us well for over 8 years, which is a long time for a daily-use machine.

The new one (also made by Sharp) only cost $48.95 at Sam�s.

I can remember that way back in the 1980�s (yes, I am getting old) Lease and I had to put off buying our 1st VCR because they cost too much for our budget. I remember that a 2-head, piece-o-crap model went for close to $300 in the early 80�s. That was more than the amount one of us took home on a two-week paycheck back then. I even paid a repair shop to fix our first one, several years later, when it started acting up.

Now?

They�re freakin� disposable.

If a VCR starts eating tapes or doesn�t track properly, you won�t spend $50 to fix something that can be replaced for less��.


I did an informal count around the non-Codeman portions of the house, and I came up with 18 different remote controls to run various our machines, plus run a few that have been replaced!

Crazy, huh?

I think only 2 in the bedroom, 3 in the living room, and 2 in the basement are actually used at all. That still adds up to 7 different remotes needed to operate our electronic equipment.

I think the first television we purchased that had a remote control to operate it was bought in the mid-80�s. Now we can�t run anything without one. Even my cheap cd/cassette/radio system in the basement ($70) has a multi-function remote.

Sometimes, I can understand why people try to simplify their lives��.


Lease fells much better today, or at least has done her best to function. She stills sounds like she smokes 4 packs of cigarettes a day (instead of 4 cigarettes a day), but she isn�t coughing as much as yesterday, and she isn�t running a fever anymore.

Seems like this cold is going around here right now. A couple fo different people told her today that they had fought something very similar in recent weeks.

Fuckin� summer colds!

Not that there is ever a good time to feel sick. It just seems cruel to have to lay under a blanket, on the couch, when it is so nice outside�.


I think I will leave you with a link to this website. There, you will find an easy-to-take test to help you decide if you are under too much stress. I recommend that you take the test today- your mental health is nothing to take for granted!


Have a great weekend, all��.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top