Today's music?

Steely Dan - "Everything Must Go" (2003- Warner-Reprise records) Three years between releases makes one miss the 'Dan



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Jul. 22, 2003 - 9:22 p.m.

I think I need a vacation�..Or at least a night �off� to catch up here in D-land, anyway�.

Last night, after supper I decided to skip the computer routine and headed down to Lake Mohall.

Yes, there is a Lake Mohall, and I can reach several of my fishing spots there in a 5 minute drive from my house.

Why don�t I fish there more often, instead of driving to BACE Lake ?(thanks to cosmiccrayola for the new name for the Big Army C orps of E ngineers Lake south of Mohall)

Because Lake Mohall is a sewer for the two large grain processors here in town. The water is foul smelling, always turgid, and very shallow (the deepest point on the lake is only 12 feet deep).

I grew up fishing on this lake, and I can usually catch something if I try hard enough. The fish population isn�t anywhere close to BACE�s, and the flesh of the bluegill, white bass, and crappie isn�t nearly as tasty (I wonder why that is, considering how I described the water in the last paragraph).

It just seemed like a good night to try for a few white bass. The wind was light, and a cold front was approaching. I have caught plenty of whites under the same conditions in the past.

One problem, though- it appears that the white bass have had a major dieback on Lake Mohall. I stopped by the local bait and tackle shop after work (I had to replace my lost Rooster Tail spinners from Saturday�s wild fishing), and found out this sad fact from JoAnn, the shop�s co-owner. None of the locals who fish this lake regularly has been reporting any whites since last fall. I didn�t catch many last fall, for that matter.

I went to my best spot, a sandbar at the point of my favorite bridge. I tried everything I know, but didn�t catch a single bass. I didn�t even see one break the surface.

You would think that the dieing-off of a major game fish in a large lake would make the news. Yesterday was the first I had heard of the missing fish.

Sad news, if something has killed them off. I hope the DNR considers restocking them, anyway�


I didn�t get skunked, btw- I managed to land 17 crappie. Three would have been legal to keep (I didn�t), with one a very nice 12� fish.

Seems like they have moved back into their old hideouts, after falling back population wise for several years (does this sentence make any sense to you?)

It was just a very nice night to spend an hour or so, walking the shoreline and tossing jigs into the water�.


Tonight was hectic.

I came home, and filled two buckets with water. I had harvested my �Walla Walla� and �Sweet Sandwich� onions after work tonight, and wanted to soak the dirt off of them before hanging them up to dry.

I went inside and checked the answering machine for messages.

I had one from Mr. Snow (the full-time temp/full time farmer from NDDOT). He wanted me to drive down to his farm. He had saved me a bag full of very ripe peaches from his harvesting today.

Cool!

The tree rats can�t reach his property (and if they did, his two 100+ pound dogs would have them for a snack), and he has 7 semi-dwarf trees to pick from.

They were still loaded tonight. His wife was in the kitchen, running two canning pots. Each was filled with quart jars packed full of red, ripe peaches.

I took a tour of his garden (huge, I mean HUGE onions- make mine look puny, and ripe blackberries the size of my thumb were the highlights today. I never get tired of checking out how other�s grow their gardens ;), and made it home in time to cook supper before Lease arrived home form work.

One problem- the peaches were VERY ripe. They wouldn�t have lasted until tomorrow night. They had to be processed tonight.

I just finished cleaning up the mess (both the kitchen and myself). It is almost time for me to call it a night.

I have 13 half-pints of canned peach jam, cooling on the counter. The spread is the most unbelievable shade of, well, �peach� pink that I have ever made.

Fuck my local tree rats. They might steal most of my fruit, but they didn�t stop me from making some killer peach jam this year�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top