Today's music?

Yes - "Relayer" (1974 - Atlantic records) Prog rock, and an old favorite



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Jul. 26, 2003 - 11:04 p.m.

It�s late, It�s Saturday night, so I will just post a few photos here�

Hello! Welcome to the roadiepig Diaryland �journal�, recently renewed at Gold status for another twelve months!

Expect to see more silly banner ads from me any day now (note to self- remember to contact k-style for new ad ideas).

I know it is almost bedtime for most everyone, so I will leave you with no real news of the day (short outline- free bagels, far too many Amish folks, bargain pectin, overpriced fried chicken, cinnamon rolls, snicker doodle cookies, and Italian beef, flower gardens that could use a little weed pulling, and goats that kicked me in the gonads- maybe tiem to expand on these subjects tomorrow?)

I just wanted to show you the latest battles raging in my pathetic garden.

Photo #1 is of my first real crop of seedless grapes:

Damn, I have some fat fingers!

I decided to harvest what was left of my seedless Catawba grapes. The local sparrows have been eating these sweet fruits as soon as they became close to ripe. I have tried to wait for them to all reach maturity, but that would be as pointless as waiting on the squirrels top fill themselves with their fill of my peaches.

In other words- all for them, none for me.

When we came home tonight, there were at least 10 sparrows on my seedless grape vine, pecking away at what was left of the fruit.

That was a signal to me to harvest what was left. The whole time I was picking, the sparrows were chirping away at me. I am sure that if you could translate �sparrow�, the language they was using would peel paint off of the side of a barn.

Too bad.

I let them eat at least half of the crop. Enough is enough.

The next crop will be the seeded Catawba grapes. I have enough bird netting to protect that crop. It will be much larger than what I brought into the house today. The seedless plant had struggled to grow for the past few years, until I removed a aggressive, old-fashioned rose plant that was competing with it earlier this spring. Next year should produce a bumper crop��.


This is the view from the underside of my late-crop peach tree:

This is why I am trying to protect this tree from the squirrels. I have a very set of fruit on this one, lonely tree. If I had to guess, I would say I had at least 2 bushels of unripe fruit as I write this. They are at least 2 weeks from maturing.

They won�t make it, though.

The local tree rats are in full attack mode. Every day brings another 10 or so partially eaten fruits on the ground below the tree.

If they would at least eat the entire peach, it wouldn�t piss me off so much.

They eat a few bites, and then drop the wasted peach to the ground.

And then it is on to the next peach.

Wasteful bastards.

The next view is a first, though. Look closely at this photo:

This is the first time I have noticed a partially eaten peach, resting in the branches of the Evil Black Walnut Tree From Hell!

This peach is now resting about 20 feet above the ground.

I guess the squirrel decided it wasn�t ripe enough, and went after another one�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top