Today's music?

Marc Copely - "*Limited Lifetime Guarantee" - (2002 -RCA Records) ...hard-rocking singer/songwriter- think Pete Yorn crossed



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Jul. 28, 2003 - 5:23 p.m.

Am escalation in the never-ending Squirrel War�plus- news from my workplace�

Yesterday, while working around the yard, I noticed that the local tree rats had been destroying my unripe peaches at an alarming rate. Early last week, it was only a fruit or two on the ground per day.

Not good, but a low enough waste to still leave me some to harvest down the road.

Yesterday? There were at least 20 barely-eaten peaches on the ground. None were near ripening (nor are any on the tree- they are at least 2 weeks away from that happening).

To be honest with you, I am just tired of the usual methods I have deployed in the past. It doesn�t matter how often I plunk one of the rats with my CO2 powered bbgun. They just leave for a short period of time, and then return to the scene of the crime when they get the �all clear� signal from squirrel TV or something. Then, it�s dinnertime.

I tried bird netting, with poor results. The squirrels just chew through the stuff, and resume eating.

It was time for me to try something else.

I really don�t want to kill these critters- annoying pains in the ass that they are. I try to let nature do its thing with minimal interruption from me as possible.

No, I decided that poisoning them wasn�t the best for my property (although I have considered it in fits of rage in the past). Too many other critters who would have access to the bait, and thus be killed along with any tree rat that consumed it.

I stopped by the local Farm�N�Fleet after work tonight, and dropped $17.95 on a Havaheart live trap (�Especially for squirrels!�, or so said the writing on the box).

I put a broken ear of overripe sweet corn into the front of the trap, set the trip plate/door, and carried it down to the trees.

There were two tree rats on the tree that scurried away when I reached the bottom of the hill. They headed for the Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!, and assumed positions in the lower branches. They made that damn chattering sound they make when any enemy comes around, waiting on me to leave the area.

I chattered back at them a little, made sure the trap was at the perfect spot at the base of the tree�s trunk, and went back into the house.

That was over an hour ago. The tree rats stayed in the tree for about 30 minutes, watching me working in the kitchen.

No kidding- they both sat in the middle branches of the E.B.W.T.f.H.!, staring straight at my kitchen window. Tails bobbing, they communicated back and forth. I�m sure the conversation went something like, �Does he really think we are that dumb? All the free peaches in the neighborhood, and we are going to go for a single raw ear of corn?�

That�s what I am hoping they do. If nothing is captured by sunset, I will slather a big glob of chunky peanut butter onto the corncobs.

If they can pass that up, I will be very surprised�.


N.D.D.O.T. at Mohall workplace update!

The two temporary lead workers who were removed from the office a couple of months ago (couldn�t get along together, acting like a couple of 8 year olds on the playground, etc.) have been added back into the rotation, starting August 1.

Joy!

They won�t be in the temporary lead workers position at the same time. The two guys who have been running things since they were removed will also be in the rotation, too.

Not good news for my fellow NDDOT employees. Both of these guys are still seething over their demotion, and have axes to grind with just about everyone in the storage. I can�t understand why they would put them back in there, considering their dispositions haven�t changed for the better. For the worse? Yes, definitely.

Oh well- I guess I only have to keep my distance from their squabbles, and duck if the bullets ever start flying�.


I forgot to mention that we oiled and rocked the main parking lot last Friday.

All of it.

With hot, sloppy HFP emulsion.

For the first time in at least 6 years.

Four days after I finished spending 8 days stripping and reapplying new wax to all of the office floors.

Yes, there are already a bunch of sticky HFP spots on the floor. I can�t remove this substance without removing any wax underneath, too.

Figures, doesn�t it?

I thought they had decided to put the oiling off for another year. If I knew that it would be done this soon, I would have put off the waxing for a few more weeks�..


Came in this morning, and found out that we have a new employee.

She (yes, I said she) is a summer hourly/college student who started the season working in a county 60 miles east of here. She thought she was moving to the town located there, and requested the job there. After she decided to not move, she just stopped showing up for work.

Last Friday, the personnel chief in London called, and she wanted to know if this young lady had been working at our storage. I told here that she hadn�t, and she said she would call her at home. She would have to file a paper saying that she was leaving the state before she would get her last paycheck.

I guess she decided to work for the last 3 weeks before her fall semester starts at our place. She seems very quiet, but that would be expected if you were both the only female and the only Black person in the building.

I think she will do ok, though. She is receiving student aid because she plays on her college�s softball team, so I think she can hold her own doing the work��.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top